Dewey’s Copycat Harvest Salad

There is a local pizza joint I tried for the first time last year.  Since then, I have been back again and again and again.  Dewey’s Pizza is unique and delicious.  They have the most creative pizzas there like the:

  • Edgar Allan Poe 
    Olive Oil, Mozzarella-Fontina Blend, Mushrooms, Roasted Garlic, Kalamata Olives and Goat Cheese, with Fresh Tomatoes and Parsley after the bake

And the:

  • Dr. Dre
    Olive oil, Mozzarella Cheese, Green Peppers, Red Onions, Amish Chicken, Bacon, and Jalapenos with Diced Tomatoes and Ranch after the bake

Or perhaps my favorite, the:

  • Southwest BBQ Chicken
    Olive Oil, Smoked Cheddar & Mozzarella, Black Bean Corn Salsa, Amish Chicken, Roasted Red Peppers, BBQ Sauce

 

 

 

My friend and I even attended a pizza making class there!

IMG_8993I rocked that pizza making hardcore, dude.

IMG_8994But, oddly enough, my most favorite thing on the Dewey’s menu isn’t their pizza (except maybe their crust…mmm).  It’s their Harvest Salad!  Sweet and tangy with a mix of complimentary flavors and textures, this seasonal salad is definitely my most favorite salad of all time.

The problem is, it’s only available in the fall!  That works for right now, but soon my precious baby is going to go away for nine whole months!  “I must find a way to fix this problem” I thought one day.  A quick Google search resulted in this recipe, which I have adapted slightly.  If you’re like me and you LOVE Dewey’s salad, or apple cider vinaigrette, or figs, or Boursin cheese, pin this recipe to your Pinterest board PRONTO!

IMG_0232editedDewey’s Copycat Harvest Salad
Spring mix salad
Thick cut bacon, cooked and chopped in 1/2″ chunks
Boursin cheese (flavor doesn’t matter but I used Garlic & Herb)
Dried figs, chopped
Pepitas*
Apple Cider Vinaigrette

Guess what the steps to this salad are.  You guessed it!  Throw everything in a bowl and eat!  I didn’t put amounts on this recipe because it’s a salad.  Add the amount of what you want!  For example, most people would make a salad with maybe 1/3-1/2 a container of spring mix.  To that, in addition to all the other ingredients, they’d probably add a couple slices of bacon.  Me?  I’d add a couple slices.  Then a couple more.  Then I’d eat a slice or two.  Then I’d contemplate adding a fifth, sixth, and seventh slice.  But that’s me and I have a pork addiction.

For my salad (to keep things in perspective), I started with 1/3 container of spring mix.  To that, I added four slices of bacon, 1/4 container of Boursin cheese, 6 dried figs I chopped into large pieces, some pumpkin seeds, and a couple tablespoons of Apple Cider dressing.  I thought it was perfect, but again, add more or less of each ingredient based on your tastes.

Speaking of pumpkin seeds, make sure you get pepitas (shelled pumpkin seeds).  I wasn’t paying attention and I just grabbed “pumpkin seeds” which have the shell on them.  If you can’t find them at your local grocery store, try Trader Joes.  You can use sunflower seeds as well if you can’t find them.

Another tip I have is that you don’t have to make your own dressing.  You are more than welcome to (I suggest following the recipe on the original post I linked to in my opening paragraph), but in a time crunch, try Ken’s Steak House Apple Cider Vinaigrette.

I had started to make my own and then realized I forgot the APPLE CIDER.  Then I saw this dressing in the pantry and did a happy dance I didn’t have to run to the store!

If you like salads with some sweetness and a little bit of crunch, try this out.  It’s a great salad to have with dinner or as a quick lunch.  Yummmmmmm

Harvest Salad

 

 

Published by

badesjarlais

I'm a food blogger who loves food and tries to live a healthy as possible, while still enjoying all kinds of food. As the mom of a very lively (but picky) little boy and the wife to an somewhat equally picky husband, it's my goal in life to serve up tasty, healthy meals on the fly.

5 thoughts on “Dewey’s Copycat Harvest Salad”

  1. Dr Dre above just says ‘Olive Oil’…is there no red sauce on that pizza? It’s just a drizzle of olive oil? I’ve never thought about it before when I ate it.

Leave a comment