Cooking Through Construction

We are ½ of the way through February.  Can you believe it?  I certainly can’t.  But I also can’t wait for March because…my kitchen is getting renovated!  Not just new paint and cleaning out a couple cabinets.  I’m talking removing walls, y’all!  I’m beyond excited!  Here’s what we’re working with right now:

kitchen

Ugh.  Ugly.  I hate it.  It doesn’t look terrible in the picture, but what you can’t see is all the scratches on the countertop lip, the “paint” coming off the cabinets, the crappy quality of the product, the cabinets not staying screwed into the frames, and basically just the general disfuctionality of the kitchen.  My house was one of those development houses where they were just trying to get the work done in as quick of a time frame with the cheapest stuff they could find.  Not anymore!

kitchen3

Like I said, we are taking down walls, adding cabinets, getting a new oven (EEEKKK!!!), painting, new countertops, new sink, new backsplash, EVEN MORE counter space and cabinet space, raising the height of the cabinets, new floors, the works!!!

Basically everything in this picture will be gone or moved:

kitchen2

The one thing about this whole process I’m not really looking forward to is the whole being without a kitchen to cook in thing.  I cook dinner at least 6 nights a week, but most of the time I cook every night.  Even on the nights I’m not going to be home, I try to leave my boys with something they can heat up.

I’m combatting that by making a dinner plan for the month of March (they think our reno will take about 4 weeks) which will include a LOT of freezer meals and Instant Pot recipes.  I’m planning on starting a new series on here called “Cooking Through Construction” which will focus these oven-free foods.  Follow along with me while I experience this adventure!

Step one?  Replacing our couch.  I know what you’re thinking…how is the couch part of the kitchen renovation?  We are basically redoing our main living space.  Our house is open concept already and, with the removal of the wall separating the kitchen from the living room, that openness is going to be even more vast.

Our old couch was in sad, sad shape and we were looking for more “adult” furniture.

couch3

So we upgraded to this beauty:

couch2

She’s so comfy! We are still working on side tables, lamps, fans, decor, etc for the space, but step one is complete!

couch1Stay tuned for step two! (Ugh…we have so much work to do!)

If anyone is great at decorating, let me know.  I suck at it.

2 thoughts on “Cooking Through Construction

  1. I’m so excited for you. And anxious to watch the process. So please keep us updated. We are currently building for the third time and have remodeled our kitchen, half bath, laundry before. It is so much fun and stressful. But it will all be worth it. What all do you have picked out? As for decorating, I have learned to take my time. We had a large empty wall for 2 whole years. One date night we went into Pier One, and it all just came to us. It was worth the wait.
    Good luck!

    • We have pretty much all the materials picked out. I just went and approved my granite yesterday. We are having a local door company come and measure for our patio doors today. But the counters, cabinets, floors, backsplash, sinks, etc have all been selected. We have to pick a paint color (this weekend) and find a fan and light fixture as well as a kitchen table, but the table can wait a few months. If need be, we can eat at our new island! EEEK! It’s getting close!

Leave a Reply

