Pizza Bites

img_8783I have been reading Damn Delicious for a few years now.  Her food is…well…damn delicious!  She’s also a wonderful photographer and has a great sense of humor.  While I was groggily flipping through Instagram the week of Christmas, I stumbled upon this recipe for Cheesy Pizza Bread.  I immediately pinned it onto one of my Pinterest boards and within a week or so, I had made it twice.  Jake tried it the first night and demanded it the next night for dinner again.  It’s super quick and easy to whip up on a busy weeknight, though it’s not exactly figure friendly.  Since I made this recipe the first time, I have made it at least three or four other times.  It’s definitely a keeper in our house!

img_8781

Pizza Bread 
(adapted from this recipe on damndelicious.net)

1 16 oz tube biscuits, cut into quarters
¼ stick butter, melted
2 tbsp parmesan cheese
2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
¾ tsp garlic powder
½ tsp oregano
¼ tsp salt
1 cup pizza sauce
½ cup pepperoni chunks (I get a roll of pepperoni and chop it into small cubes)
1 ½ cups shredded mozzarella or several slices of fresh mozzarella

Preheat oven to 400º.  In a small cake pan sprayed with cooking spray, arrange your biscuit pieces in an even layer.  In a small bowl, mix butter, parmesan cheese, parsley, garlic powder, oregano, and salt.  Combine well, then spread evenly over the biscuits.  I like using a pastry brush for this part.  Next, top the garlic buttered biscuits with the pizza sauce, pepperoni, and mozzarella cheese.  Bake for 14-16 minutes or until cheese is melted and biscuits are cooked.

Confession: I could eat an entire pan of these myself.  I won’t…but I could.  I don’t think I won’t anyhow…

 

Leave a Reply

