Buffalo Chicken Nugget Wraps

I have decided I hate vegetables.  And fruits.  And all I want to eat is cheese, bread, and meat.  Pretty typical mental state when I decide it’s time to shed pounds.  Sigh…one of these days I’ll reach my goal weight again!

In the meantime, I scour several websites looking for the next yummy meal I can eat to help me get to that weight I desire.  Skinnytaste (as I’ve mentioned several times in the past) is one of my favorites.  She has a ton of great meals and even inspired me to ask for an Instant Pot for Christmas.

The other day I was checking out my Instagram feed when I happened upon one of her posts for Buffalo Chicken Nuggets.  Well…this is right up my alley.  We in Casa de Bethany love anything buffalo.  Except for Jake.  He’s kind of a wuss.  I mean he’s five but still.

She served her nuggets with bleu cheese on a skewer, but I decided to make a meal out of mine.  One thing I decided to change…she did about half regular bread crumbs and half panko.  I prefer some extra crunch so next time I’m going to do at least ¾ panko (if not the whole mixture).

Note:  these nuggets aren’t spicy at all.  In fact, Jeff stated that he would have liked them to be even more spicy.  I could have easily remedied that by using the Franks Red Hot like the recipe called for instead of the Buffalo wing sauce I chose.  Her stuff tends to be a little spicier than I like, so I was a little nervous.  Next time, I’ll go with the Original Franks.

img_8755

Buffalo Chicken Nugget Wraps
(adapted from Skinnytaste)

½ tsp garlic powder
½ tsp paprika
½ tsp chili powder (or more if you like it hotter)
⅛ tsp black pepper
½ cup panko bread crumbs
olive oil spray
2 tbsp Frank’s Red Hot Original sauce
2 tsp olive oil
2 chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch chunks
Ranch dressing
Iceberg lettuce

Preheat oven to 425°.  In a shallow dish, combine garlic powder, paprika, chili powder, black pepper, and panko bread crumbs.  In a separate shallow dish, combine hot sauce and olive oil.  Dip chicken chunks into the hot sauce mixture then the bread crumb mixture.  Place on cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray.  Lightly spray bread crumbs with olive oil spray.

Bake at 425° for 8-10 minutes then flip.  Spray once more with cooking spray and cook for an additional 4-5 minutes.  Serve in lettuce cups with ranch dressing.

For a delicious side dish, try my Zucchini Crisps!

 

One thought on “Buffalo Chicken Nugget Wraps

Leave a Reply

