Instant Love

Instant Pot.  Where the heck have you been all my life?

instant-pot

Gina at Skinnytaste has been talking about her Instant Pot (IP for short) for a long time and I just thought it was a pressure cooker.  Oh boy, was I wrong!  Apparently, this little baby can do pretty much everything but your dishes!  I received one (actually two) for Christmas and immediately went about finding the perfect first recipe to make in it.  I settled on a Skinnytaste recipe for starters.  It seemed only fitting since she was the main reason I was inspired to put it on my wish list to begin with.

Now, I’m not a huge soup person, but when I was meal planning this weekend (as I do every Sunday…more on that in the future), it was chilly and dark outside.  A big bowl of chicken soup sounded perfect.

This chicken soup, however, is not your traditional chicken soup.  When I think of chicken soup, I think of chicken, veggies, noodles, and delicious broth.  This soup has bright cilantro, creamy avocado, and pillowy potatoes with not a pasta noodle in sight!  After all, it is a Skinnytaste soup!  Served with a delicious Chobani yogurt, it’s made for wonderfully simply but scrumptious (and surprisingly filling) meals this week at work!

chicken-soup-2Skinnytaste’s Pressure Cooker Chicken Soup For My Soul
(from the Skinnytaste Fast and Slow: Knockout Quick-Fix and Slow Cooker Recipes cookbook)

6 bone-in skinless chicken thighs
1 tsp salt
½ tsp ground cumin
1 tsp olive oil
1 cup chopped scallions
4 garlic cloves, minced (I like the jarred stuff from Trader Joes)
1 medium tomato, chopped (I left this out…not big on tomatoes)
6 small potatoes, halved
½ red bell pepper, cut into 1-inch pieces
½ cup chopped fresh cilantro
1 tbsp chicken bouillon (in the jar) or 2 cubes dried
2 bay leaves
3 ears corn, halved (I also left these out because it’s not corn season)
Avocado (I use ½ for each bowl but I’m into that sort of thing)

Turn your IP to saute and add your olive oil.  While your pot heats, sprinkle your chicken with salt and cumin.  I added a little pepper too because I’m a spicy gal.  Saute your scallions and garlic for a minute until fragrant, then add your tomato.  Cook until soft.  Add the chicken, potatoes, red bell pepper, ¼ cup of the cilantro, 5 ½ cups water, bouillon, and bay leaves.  Cook on high pressure for 25 minutes, then quick release your IP.  Add corn to pot and cook on high pressure for an additional 3 minutes or until corn is warm and potatoes are cooked through.  Remove bay leaves and serve.

chicken-soup-1I liked mine with an extra sprinkle of cilantro, half an avocado diced, and a squeeze of lime juice.  Quick, easy, and hits the spot!

Stay tuned for more creations involving my new kitchen love!  I’ve already made a meatloaf and potatoes dinner, brown rice, butternut squash, and salsa verde chicken in it since Sunday!  I can’t wait to tell you how they turned out.  Hint:  keep watch for that meatloaf recipe…

One thought on “Instant Love

  1. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Nugget Wraps | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

