Parmesan Parsley Potatoes

In the two-thirds of a year, I have become a devoted fan of Gina over at Skinnytaste.  It all started when I was given her cookbook for Christmas.

At the start of 2015, I decided I was going to refocus on exercise and eating healthy (an original idea, right?).  I wanted to incorporate recipes from the Skinnytaste cookbook because I had heard her recipes were delicious yet healthy.  She lost a bunch of weight using the Weight Watchers system and, though I wasn’t a Weight Watcher, I still liked the concept behind their plan.

After trying and loving several of the cookbook recipes, I ventured over to her blog, where I was delighted to find a vast array of new ideas for dinner.  I began pinning tons of things from breakfast to main meals to side dishes.  She has all sorts of great recipes.

Tonight, as we tried to capture the last few drops of summer sunshine (err…early fall sunshine I guess 😦 ), I knew I wanted a delicious, yet decadent-tasting recipe as a side to our grilled pork chops.  I stumbled upon this recipe that sounded perfect.  Garlicky, cheesy, potatoey, delicious.  This will definitely be going on my Must Make Again Pinterest board.  (Incidentally, if you want a few suggestions of what I’ve tried and loved on Pinterest, check out that board.  If you want some ideas of things to avoid, check out the Done and Done board.)  FYI, I try to comment as to why we loved or hated the recipe.

Gina’s Parmesan Parsley Potatoes
(from Skinnytaste.com)

1 tsp oil
1 garlic clove, minced (I used Trader Joe’s garlic paste)
Cooking spray
1 medium russet or yukon gold potato, washed and dried
Salt & Pepper
Parmesan cheese (she suggests 2 tsp)
Parsley

Begin by slicing your potato in 1/4″ strips.  Following Gina’s advice, I used my mandolin to slice my potatoes in 1/4″ planks and then sliced those planks in strips.  I dunked my potatoes in cold water at this point for 10 minutes and, honestly, I think this was a mistake because they were not nearly as crispy as I wanted them to be.  Gina does not say to do that and I think I should have followed her on this.  Instead, I read another reader who suggested doing this would lead to an extra crispy fry, which is my goal in life.  Full disclosure, I probably didn’t dry my fries as well as they needed too.

Preheat your oven to 425º.  Prepare a cookie sheet with the cooking spray.  Toss your fries with the oil, garlic, salt, & pepper.  I do this right on the cookie sheet.  Spread out in an even layer then bake in the oven for 10 minutes* on each side.

*I ended up baking them for 10 minutes, flipping, and baking 10 more minutes.  Then, as they weren’t very crispy, I bumped up the temp to broil and cooked them for an additional 10-15 minutes.  I think the pre-soak and the fact that I didn’t measure my oil might have been where I went wrong.  So, if you learn anything from me, follow the recipe.  Regardless, I loved them!  They were super yummy.

BTW, I think I have a new mascot for Red Nose Day…  (Google it if you didn’t hear about it this summer.)

Leave a Reply

