Garlic Rosemary Dinner Rolls

One of my favorite things I’ve ever posted on this blog were these:

Cinnamon Rolls 3Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls.  They are awesome.  Seriously good.  They do take a little bit of extra effort to be honest, but they are so worth it in the end.

Today, I ran into my sister-in-law at the grocery store and she happened to mention them so, obviously, I started craving them.  As we were right next to the baking aisle, I zipped through, grabbed a packet of yeast, and it was decided.  Today was cinnamon roll day.

Well, today also happened to be chicken brining day and what goes better with delicious brined, roasted chicken than homemade dinner rolls!  As we were running errands, I began to ponder whether or not the cinnamon roll dough, which was rising beautifully on my dryer as it tossed my clothes around in the warm heat, would transform into dinner rolls.  They are, after all, both yeast rolls.  I figured I’d give it a try.  What’s the worst that could happen?  No dinner rolls?

Yes, I realize that would be a travesty, but nonetheless.

So after I prepped the bird and veggies and popped them in the oven, I retrieved my bowl of glorious dough from the laundry room and portioned out about a third of the dough.  I kneaded it a bit and rolled it around, then cut it into 8 equal pieces.  After I covered them with butter and some seasonings, I threw them in the oven with a silent “please let these be delicious”.

IMG_0034Oh.  My.  Word.

They were FABULOUS!!!  A bit denser than traditional dinner rolls, but we were using cinnamon roll dough after all.  These rolls are definitely reappearing on the fourth Thursday in November at Bethany’s house…

IMG_0039

Garlic Rosemary Dinner Rolls
(adapted from Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Roll recipe)

1 quart whole milk
1 cup vegetable oil
1 cup sugar
1 package active dry yeast
9 cups flour, plus an extra cup if needed
1 heaping tbsp baking powder
1 scant tbsp baking soda
1 heaping tbsp salt
Butter
Dried rosemary
Garlic powder

Warning:  This will make a TON of rolls.  This recipe is originally for making cinnamon rolls to share.

Mix milk, sugar, and oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat just until it starts to look like it might boil.  I whisked mine every few minutes to make sure it stayed combined.  Set aside for about an hour and cool until it is just slightly warm to the touch.  Sprinkle yeast over the top and let sit for a minute or two.

Meanwhile, measure out 9 cups of flour into a large bowl.  Add the baking powder, baking soda, and salt and whisk to combine.  You can also sift the ingredients if you want.  Mix your yeast into the liquids and then pour in the flour.  Whisk to combine and then switch to a spoon when you can’t really whisk anymore.  If your dough is still too sticky at this point, you can add a little more flour.  My dough needed a little extra.  You want the dough to be slightly tacky, but not coating your whole hand when you pull it away.

Make sense?  Sure, Bethany.  Clear as mud.

Cover with a clean towel and put in a warm spot in your house.  I was doing laundry, so it was the perfect place to stash my mix.  Let sit, covered, for at least an hour until the dough puffs up.

After an hour, punch down the dough and turn out onto a floured board.  Knead the dough a little until it’s smooth (I think I did this for about 2 minutes).  Cut your dough into equal pieces and form into balls.  I sort of fold my dough under itself to make a nice, even top to my rolls, but I don’t think that’s necessary.

Place your rolls in a buttered pan and leave a couple inches of space between each.  Cover and let rise again for 20 minutes.

Preheat your oven to 375°.  Uncover rolls and brush them with a little melted butter.  Sprinkle on dried rosemary and garlic powder, then bake for 15-18 minutes or until your rolls are nice and golden brown.

IMG_0032

These rolls go well with roasted chicken, steak, or….nothing at all.

2 thoughts on “Garlic Rosemary Dinner Rolls

    • Sara, I’m so sorry I didn’t respond. I didn’t get an alert that I had a comment. It was one package of yeast, but seeing as it’s nearly two months later, you may not need that info anymore. 😛

Leave a Reply

