Brownie Buckeyes

I’ve lived in Ohio for 10 years this May.  One of the first things I learned when moving here was their state “treat”:  The Buckeye.  Buckeyes, for those of you who are not fortunate enough to know, are delicious balls of peanut butter and powdered sugar hugged by a thin layer of yummy chocolate.  They are quite possibly my favorite treat in the entire world next to brownies.

Buckeye Brownies 2

So imagine my lust when my coworker showed me a picture of what I can only describe as the love child of a brownie and a buckeye.  Buckeye Brownie Cookies.

“You or Barb should make these” was all the text read.  One look and I was hooked.  Since our store was having a carry in soon, I mentally penciled these cookies in as a surprise treat for my team.

If you like peanut butter, brownies, cookies, or anything in between, make these.  They are epic.

Buckeye Brownies 3

Brownie Buckeyes
(from this recipe)

1 family size package brownie mix
1 egg
1/4 stick butter, melted
4 oz cream cheese, softened
1 cup powdered sugar
1 cup peanut butter
4 oz candy chocolate (that stuff in the block near the chocolate chips)

Preheat the oven to 350*.  In a bowl, combine the brownie mix, egg, butter, and cream cheese until well mixed.  Using a medium scoop (approximately 1.5 tbsp), scoop the mixture onto a cookie sheet lined with a silpat AND sprayed lightly with cooking spray.  Yes, they are that sticky.  You should get almost exactly 24 cookies.  Bake for 12 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix up your “buckeye” layer.  Combine the peanut butter and powdered sugar until well mixed.  Using a small scoop (approximately 2 tsp), scoop the mixture into 24 balls and set aside.

When you take your cookies out of the oven, you’ll want to immediately top with your peanut butter mixture.  I flattened the PB balls out in my hand to make a disc, then placed that over the cookie.  Let these cool completely.

After your cookies are cooled, you can top with your chocolate later.  Melt 4 ounces of candy chocolate in the microwave on 30 second increments, stirring in between.  It should only take 1-1.5 minutes.  Spoon or pipe your chocolate on top of the peanut butter.  Let them sit until the chocolate layer is hardened.

Buckeye Brownies

Try not to eat them all in one sitting.  I dare you.

2 thoughts on “Brownie Buckeyes

  1. I’ve lived in Ohio my whole life. And I LOVE Buckeyes! These look delicious! I will be making these very very soon!

Leave a Reply

