Same City, New Tastes

I can be a creature of habit.  At certain restaurants, I find something I like and have a hard time branching out.  At Smashburger, it’s the BBQ Bacon Burger and Smash fries.  At Sammy’s El Pueblo, it’s the Bourbon Burger.  (Sensing a burger theme here aren’t you?)  At Piada, it’s the Balsamic Chicken Salad.

You see, if I find something I love, and especially if I don’t get to that restaurant very often, I want those meals over and over again.  I’ve been to Sammy’s about 20 times and I think I’ve only ordered something aside from the Bourbon burger maybe three times.

CIty BBQ 3

The same goes for City BBQ.  Every time I go, I get the beef brisket with mac and cheese and fries.  Every. Single. Time.  Though one time I did order hush puppies instead of the fries.  Wasn’t the same.

But when Samantha (a marketing manager for City BBQ) contacted me about meeting up and trying a few new items to their menu, I was all over it.  A free lunch to expose me to items I’ve never tried at one of my favorite restaurants in Dayton?  Uh, yeah.  That was a no brainer.

City BBQ 4

First, she brought out some sides and set them on the table while she gathered the rest of the meal.  It was all I could do to not shove the entire bowl of mac and cheese in my mouth while I waited for her to return.

I snapped a few pictures instead.

In addition to the mac and cheese, she ordered up some corn casserole.  I had had this before (Jeff ordered it) and it’s pretty tasty!

City BBQ 5

Also on the menu was their green beans.  I’m not a huge fan of green beans that aren’t oven roasted and slightly crispy, but these veggies were delicious.

City BBQ 6Finally, she pointed out one dish I’d never tried before.  The gumbo.  I confessed to her I didn’t even know it was on the menu.  She said she hears that a lot, but sure enough when I looked up at the sides board, it was listed plain as day.  I loved it!  Spicy with a little creole flair.

City BBQ 1

Next, she offered up their award winning roast turkey.  I was very familiar with this turkey breast.  I picked one up for my store’s Thanksgiving Day dinner last year AND convinced my friends and family to have one at each of our Thanksgiving Dinners as well!  They are so quick and easy, it really is a great solution if you’re looking for a time saver on Thanksgiving.

Finally, she brought out the big guns.City BBQ 2This, my friends, is the More Cowbell.  Oh. My. God.  I need to take a minute and remember this glorious, delectable morsel of food.  My entire mouth just filled with saliva.

This sandwich quickly replaced the brisket sandwich as my favorite item at City BBQ.  It’s like the beef brisket’s hot, sexy, leather wearing, motorcycle riding older brother.  It’s a brisket sandwich topped with sauteed peppers and onions, provolone cheese, crispy onion straws and horseradish sauce on Texas toast.  It is perfection.  Definitely check this sandwich out the next time you’re near a City BBQ.  You won’t be disappointed.

To entice you even further, Samantha generously donated some gift cards to me to giveaway to a few lucky readers!  To enter, all you have to do is comment on this post and let me know what your favorite thing is to eat at City BBQ.  Only one entry per person please.  Visit my Facebook page for an additional chance to win a gift card!

Entry to this drawing will close at midnight on Wednesday, February 4th.  Winners will be announced in my blog post on Friday, February 6th.  Good luck!

26 thoughts on “Same City, New Tastes

  1. My husband and I usually get the City Sampler. It comes with brisket, pork, turkey, Texas toast, green beans & corn pudding. Everything is amazing! But next time, We are going to try that sandwich! It looks so good I think we might have it for dinner tomorrow!
    By the way, I love to read your restaurant reviews. Keep them coming!

  2. Yum! Making my mouth water at midnight! I love city barbecue so so much. I always get either the brisket or the turkey breast with greens and whatever else I’m feeling. I’m also in love with their sweet tea. Annnnd now I’m hungry. Love reading your blog girl! Keep it up

  3. I love most of the things they have, but my favorite is the beef brisket with macaroni and cheese and the vinegar slaw.

  4. My favorite would be the pulled pork sandwich, corn pudding and fries! Can’t forget that sweet tea! That sandwich looks yummy, maybe what I try next when I go there!

  5. My wife always gets the “half of a chicken” and shares with the kids. I love the ribs and pulled pork and go back and forth when we make it in there. We both get the Mac and cheese and fries. Love City Barbeque!

  6. Hands down, the pull pork with sides of French Fries (order them crispy) and baked beans. Although during the summer I get their cukes and onions instead of beans.

  7. My family loves their succulent chicken (leg and thigh) and turkey options! So moist you don’t even have to have sauce. Fries are my fav standard, while the green beans are my husbands. Llately I decided to change it up and added their cornbread. Yum!

  8. I am very similar. I usually get the same thing, naked brisket, baked beans and cole slaw. I mix the beans and slaw to get a unique dish. Adds a little crunch to the baked beans and a little spice to the slaw. I tried the More Cowbell, in its trial stage before it was named. It is awesome but I am not much of a bread man so I still opt for the naked brisket and only indulge in the More Cowbell when I need to carb load. 🙂 I usually drive 45 min once or twice a week to the nearest location to get my fix. My favorite!

  9. I’m with you, ma’am. At City Barbecue, I simply can’t help but order the pulled pork EVERY SINGLE TIME. It’s that good!!

  10. my favorite thing at City Barbecue is the pulled pork. I am like you somewhat in that I am not very adventuresome when it comes to food. I am getting better though and beginning to realize I’ve missed out on a lot of good eating. My mouth was watering when I read about the new sandwich and the gumbo is a definite”must try”. I believe I will be making a trip to City Barbecue.

  11. Pingback: BBQ For A Good Cause | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

