Frito Chili Pie

IMG_7550editedOne of my absolute favorite things my high school had for lunch was Frito Chili Pie.

That’s “walking tacos” to some of you.

IMG_7551editedCrunchy Fritos topped with deliciously spicy chili and gooey cheese.  What’s not to like?

The other day when I was meal planning, I thought about making chili.  Then Frito Chili Pie popped in my head.  It was settled.  I spent some of Sunday afternoon standing in my kitchen making a yummy pot of chili.  Even Jeff said so.

Wanna make your own “walking tacos”?  It’s pretty easy.

IMG_7553editedStep One: make a batch of your favorite chili.  I used this award winning chili recipe from Allrecipes.  I had made it before and it was just a little too spicy for me, so I halved the chili powder and the hot sauce.  I think it was the perfect spice level for us.

Step Two:  assemble.  Fritos in the bottom of the bowl, top with chili and a sprinkle (or three) of cheese.

That’s it!  It’s soooooooo easy.  And equally delicious.  Plus, what smells better than a pot of chili simmering on the stove in the middle of winter?

IMG_7554edited

 

Leave a Reply

