Run Baby Run

IMG_0196edited

I had been looking forward to my girls’ weekend away in Louisville for a while now.  Not only would I get to see my bestie, but we were doing The Color Run too…“The Happiest 5k on the Planet”!

IMG_0180edited

You may remember when we did this run last year.  I remember thinking it was just OK but I wasn’t sure if I’d do it again.  I’m so glad I did!  I’m not sure if it was because we knew to expect about an hour wait at the lineup or what, but this year was so much fun!  Could have been partly to do with these jokers keeping us entertained while we waited!

IMG_0191edited

We took our time getting to the race because, as I mentioned before, we knew we’d have to wait a while at the lineup.  They let the runners go across the starting line in waves so the color stations don’t get too clogged up.  We killed time taking pictures.

IMG_0184editedIMG_0188editedIMG_0185edited

After about 45 minutes, we were on our way.  Blue was up first!

IMG_0195editedIMG_0193editedIMG_0194edited

There were three (well, technically four) more color stations, but I didn’t take any more pictures until almost the end when there was a fun wall everyone was able to sign.

IMG_0198edited

Look closely…can you spot my name?

IMG_0197edited

By the time we were done, we were both a hot mess.  But in the best way.

IMG_0208edited

Afterwards, I messed around with the panorama function of my iPhone!

IMG_0204edited

One of the best parts of the Color Run is the color throw at the end.  I missed it last year, but this year we were dead center.  It was fabulous!

IMG_0205edited

I loved this saying:

IMG_0200edited

What a great time we had!

IMG_0216edited

While we were walking to the car, Carolyn spotted a friend of hers, who she promptly stole.

IMG_0213edited

This little bundle was the cutest thing ever!

From there, we went to my favorite breakfast place in the world…Wild Eggs!  So good!

There was a 45 minute wait (worth it, btw), so we got some coffee and headed outside to kill some time.

IMG_0215edited

It was a gorgeous morning.  I think it was about 70* with a slight breeze.  It was the perfect morning to chill outside!

IMG_0220edited

Of course, once we got inside, it was just as good.  I ordered the chilequiles and we split an order of the raspberry lemon pancakes.  They were both out of this world.  I already want more.

IMG_0221edited

Once we were done eating, we were both pretty tired, so we headed home to rest up and get ready for painting that night.  Stay tuned…

What has been your favorite 5k (or longer) you’ve run in the past?

Leave a Reply

