Giving Back

You may remember when I posted about my community event a while back. I put together a pet adoption at my Walgreens and ended up earning over $250 for SICSA. Well, friends, a few weeks later I had a fellow Dayton blogger contact me about a different event.

Kelly, from Measured in Moments, has been working with the local Big Brothers, Big Sisters (BBBS) chapter here in Dayton and has really become inspired by the work they do. Here’s a little bit of why she chose to work with this organization:

I became inspired to help BBBS, thinking about my own life–I know that the success I have now is because I was lucky enough to be surrounded by amazing mentors who cared about me and were willing to give of themselves to make sure I made good choices. As a mom, now more than ever, I believe every kid needs this–every kid deserves this. I’m on the board for the Young Professionals at [name withheld] and run their charity events. In thinking about an organization to support, BBBS immediately came to mind. This would be a way for us to give back to the next generation–the way that our mentors supported us.

To help support BBBS, Kelly has organized an event with Chili’s restaurant. On Monday, June 10th, Chili’s will donate 10% of all sales to BBBS. The best part? Everything counts! Food, alcohol, apps, dessert, everything!

The only catch is you need to bring in this flyer for it to count.

I don’t know about you, but I love Chili’s. I used to live really close to one. So close, I could walk there. One of my absolute favorite things to get there (aside from the margaritas) were the chicken tenders.

I know…a food blogger should be ordering something a bit more off the wall, right? Hey, classic American food has it’s place in the food blog world too.

My other favorite? The Southern Smokehouse Bacon Burger. OMG delicious.

Wanna know what Jeff’s favorite thing is?

Chocoholic. (That’s the Molten Chocolate Lava Cake, FYI.)

I know, I know. I’m writing about sinful food while still trying to be all healthy and everything. You know what I say? Screw it. For one night, live a little! Take your friends, family, coworkers, neighbors, everyone and help Kelly and her team earn a little extra money for BBBS.

“Each time Big Brothers Big Sisters pairs a child with a role model, we start something incredible: a one-to-one relationship built on trust and friendship that can blossom into a future of unlimited potential.” –http://www.bbbs.org

Don’t forget, though. You need to print out and bring in this flyer to have the 10% donated back to BBBS. Dayton bloggers and friends, please share on your social media sites so we can get as much exposure to this great cause as possible. Kelly and I thank you!

Also, on a separate note, I drew for the minted.com giveaway and it was lucky number 5!

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 8.44.41 PM

In the spirit of full disclosure, my sweet mama was the lucky winner:

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 9.23.42 PM

Congrats, mama! I guess my cousin will have some fancy baby announcements to send out!

8 thoughts on “Giving Back

  1. What a great cause and always so rewarding when you know you can give a little back to the community! BBBS also has a great event, a clam bake, at the Greene every summer which we have attended the past 3 years. If your looking for a fun night out for a great cause, this is a really fantastic event!

  2. Loved this post–thank you! Chili’s does have some good options for eating healthy–several grilled chicken dishes, some salads and seafood. While your burger recommendation looks AMAZING, maybe I’ll plan to eat a lighter dinner so I can indulge in the Chocoholic like Jeff!

    • I agree. For some reason, I have a horrible time controlling myself when I’m there though. Their sinful offerings are just too tempting!

      • So true! And as a fellow chips and salsa lover, may I recommend you try an order at Chili’s? They rival the best Mexican restaurants in my book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

