Birthday Celebrations

KingsIsland

Tuesday was Jeff’s birthday.  Typically he doesn’t take his birthday off work since it’s so close to Memorial Day, but this year he splurged.  I took the day off as well so we could spend it together.

The morning dawned warm and bright, with gorgeous sunshine and temperatures around 75*.  We took Jake to daycare and commenced doing our chores around the house.  That included a little gardening for me (a completely new concept).

Gardening

I bet you’re wondering why I have a kick board, right?  Substitute knee board for kneeling.  I know…I’m clever.  It worked great.  And btw, aren’t our rose bushes gorgeous?

Rose Bushes

I had to trim them a bit so they didn’t crowd the lilies, which resulted in a sweet little bouquet for my kitchen table!

roses

After gardening (and a quick nap), we left for King’s Island!  The lines were SO SHORT!  Love that!

Entry

The first roller coaster we encountered was Diamondback.  We both looked at each other and decided we needed a tamer one to start with.  Diamondback has probably the steepest drop in the entire park and neither one of us had been on a coaster in at least three years.

Diamondback

We opted for The Beast, one of the original coasters at Kings Island.  Love that ride!  At the end of the coaster there’s a spiral and it feels like the car is going to fly off the track!

After that, I was ready to ride.  Next up was Vortex, a flip you around, go upside down, awesome coaster.  Oddly, the entire time we were riding, I felt lightheaded.  I feared it meant no more inverted coasters in my future.  I’m going to try again at some point.  Maybe I was just hungry.  😉

Next up was the Zephyr.  Here’s something you may not know about me.  I get dizzy.  Easily.  Like seriously easily.  If I spin around more than once or twice, I feel nauseated.  Not sure when that started, but it’s definitely a problem.  When I first decided to go on this ride a few years ago, I was a little hesitant.  After all, it spins.  But I used to love this ride at Opryland (remember that, Tennesseans?), so I bit the bullet and went.  Now it’s one of my favorite rides!

Racer

Speaking of my favorite ride:

That’s the Raptor at Cedar Point…the best amusement park in the country.  IMO obviously.

After all that, it was time to try a new ride.  When I try a new ride the first time, I get super nervous.  My heart starts beating harder, I yawn a lot (weird), and I get really quiet.  Jeff kept trying to talk to me and get me to laugh, but most of the time I just listened to conversations around me.  When we got into the corral for Firehawk, the lady that was sitting with us told us it was fun and not to worry about it.  OK, lady.  I’ll try to take your word for it.

The coaster, for those of you who don’t know, simulates flying.  As in, you are laying down facing the ground.

As nervous as I was, it was probably my favorite ride we went on!  I can’t wait to go again!  We would have gone twice, but we were sort of on a time crunch and didn’t want to wait in the line again.

FirehawkPIcture

Speaking of time crunch, we both wanted to ride on Flight of Fear, but the wait was over 45 minutes!  For a day that was not that hot (it’s an inside coaster) and a park that was not that crowded, I was shocked.  So we skipped it.  Boo.

We grabbed some ice cream at Graeter’s and then went to the top of the Eiffel Tower to get some great pics.  Here’s the Firehawk in all it’s glory.  So fun!  The other (white) coaster is the Racer…another KI original.

Firehawk

We had just a little bit of time left before we had to leave to pick up Jake, so we walked back over to Flight of Fear to check out the line one more time.  Still 45+ minutes, so we decided to head out.  We didn’t ride on that many rides, but we had a great time anyway.  Definitely have to go back this year!

Couple

We both missed Jake terribly and wanted to squeeze him.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to squeeze this face??

booger

After grabbing the boy, we stopped at Dorothy Lane Market to pick up dinner supplies.  Jeff had requested burgers so we had those, salad, and fruit.  So yum!

Burger

The rest of the night was pretty calm.  A little snuggle time with the boy, a little leftover ice cream cake from Cold Stone, and little sleep.  It was a great day!  Happy birthday, sweetie!

Birthday Boy

Leave a Reply

