1 Minute Iced Coffee

Better Than Starbucks Iced Coffee | One Girl's Taste on Life

My favorite drink at Starbucks is a Caramel Macchiato.  In fact, 90% of the time that’s what I get.  I like them hot or iced.  I really have no preference aside from the weather outside.  Only thing I don’t like about these drinks is the price tag.  At $4.25 a pop, they really take a toll on my wallet.  Since buying a new car last year, I have had to tighten up my purse strings a little bit more, which means not as many trips to the Sbux as I would like.  #sadface

Don’t get me wrong…I still go way more than I probably should, but not quite as much as I used to.  Now, instead of going every other day, I try to go once or twice a week at the very most.

Iced Coffee3

The other thing that I don’t particularly care for with the Caramel Macchiatos is the calorie count.  As most of you know, I’m on a Get Healthy plan.  So far I’ve lost nearly 30 pounds thanks to a healthy diet, lots of exercise, and the My Fitness Pal app!  (Friend me!)

Iced Coffee1

I’m on a 1350 calorie a day plan and when I choose to have a Sbux drink, it averages out to about 200 calories a pop.  That’s more than 1/7 my daily caloric goal!  Doesn’t sound like much, but when you start inputting those calories, you realize they add up fast.

I decided the other day I was going to try to solve both these problems at once.  I wanted to make a coffee house type drink at home and save some calories at the same time.  Enter my beloved:

I was a little iffy about switching over to a Keurig at first, but let me just tell you.  Next to my (brand new thanks to dropping it in the toilet at the bar) iPhone 5….a story for a different day…it’s probably my most used gadget in the house.  Well, and my camera.  But I digress…

I had been told in the past that you couldn’t just use the same pods to make iced coffee; you had to get special pods that were specifically marked with the “iced” logo.

My friends, my friends.  I’m here to tell you this is NOT the case!  Here’s what I did:

First up, I changed the cup size to one size less than I normally brew.  So if you brew a typical middle of the range cup, you’d want to go one size to the left so your coffee is a little stronger than you like it.

Brew your cup as normal, then put a couple ice cubes in the mug.  You don’t want to pour your piping hot liquid into a glass because it could shatter.  No one wants to get pelted with shards of glass which trying to make a delicious beverage.  Am I right?  You know I am!

Iced Coffee2

While your coffee is cooling, fill up a glass with ice.  After your coffee cools, pour it over the ice, add your milk, cream, sugar, etc and you’re good to go!  It’s that simple!  When I make a typical cup of coffee, I use one tablespoon of fat free creamer and one packet of Sweet-n-low.  I tried this with the iced coffee and it was great.  I do think next time I want to add a splash of vanilla and a drizzle of caramel (which I didn’t have at the time or I totally would have done it then).

Stir and enjoy!  It’s just as good as Starbucks, plus it’s cheaper and lighter!  #winning

What’s your favorite coffee house beverage?  Do you prefer Starbucks or a different coffee house?  I’m always looking for new ones especially in Dayton.

Leave a Reply

