Destination Relaxation

I’ll be the first to admit that traveling with Jake makes me, well, nervous.  The farthest we’ve ever gone away from home is Cleveland and that was when he was just a few months old.  I wish I could tell you I was all gung ho about taking him away on a trip this summer, but that’d only be partly true.

You see, I’m not worried about him being away from home because I’m pretty sure we can get on a similar schedule he has here and be just fine.  It’s the getting there part that makes me cringe.  How will he do flying, driving, on a boat?

Deciding where to go has gone through several phases.  First, I wanted to try South Carolina.  Get a beach house somewhere and just chill.

Then, I asked around and got Destin as the consensus for places to take your kids.  I looked at the pictures and it was just lovely.  Hurricane season limited us a bit on when to take a trip, though, so it was quietly marked off the list.

Chicago was mentioned a few times, but I’m a beach person at heart plus I wanted a quiet, relaxing trip, not a go, go, go sightseeing trip, so it too was nixed.

Of course Hawaii was mentioned, but…no.  No funds, long flight, just no.  Not quite yet, my dear Jacob.  In time.

Finally, we settled on Texas.  My mom lives near San Antonio, so we talked about coming to visit her and then Jeff and I bumming around SA for a few days.  Then she asked me “What about South Padre Island?”  She went there a few years ago and loved it.  I’d always heard people talk about it when I was in college as a fun Spring Break place.  It’s just a couple hours from her home, so I said, “Sure!”

We are planning to rent a condo for a few days and just chill.  Maybe take in a sight or two, but the main purpose of the trip is to recharge our batteries.  I strongly believe that I need a vacation to really get back to where I need to be.  I haven’t been myself 100% in the last year and a half and I miss me.  Plus I’m unspeakably excited to get to share the beach with Jake!

Good thing I get a discount on sunblock.

What tips do you have for traveling (especially flying) with kids?  Jake will be 21 months at the time of the trip.

2 thoughts on “Destination Relaxation

  1. If at all possible, get a direct flight!
    Google busy bags for his age. It will give you lots of ideas for simple little things to pull out & keep him busy. Make sure he doesn’t see them ahead of time though, so they will be new!
    Don’t stress! If your stressed, he will be stressed!
    Enjoy your vacation!

Leave a Reply

