Windows Down, Music Up

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ve probably see the title of this blog post a lot recently.  We’ve had some pretty decent weather lately.  What’s my favorite thing to do when the weather gets warmer?  Roll those windows down, crank the music up, and drive.  I seriously could drive around listening to music for my job and not get bored.

Recently a very good friend of mine introduced me to an app that has changed my life.  Not even kidding.  Has anyone heard of Spotify?  No?  OK, well buckle up.

spotify

Spotify is kinda like Pandora, iTunes, and your entire music library rolled into one.  They have three different plans to choose from:  free, unlimited, and premium.

Free:  works pretty much just like Pandora.  You can create radio stations based on songs or artists you like, but you have to listen to ads in between some songs.

Unlimited ($4.99):  They do you one better by removing the ads, but you still just have access to the radio.

Premium ($9.99):  They pull out all the stops.  You have all the benefits of the other plans BUT you can also search for and play any song in their entire library whenever you want.  You can listen to whole albums, make playlists, and turn on “offline” listening, meaning you have access to those playlists even when you don’t want to use wifi or data.  It’s kind of like having the entire iTunes catalog at your fingertips for $10/month.

AHHH

I know what you’re thinking…why would I pay for music when I could listen to it for free?  I thought the same thing.  But once I tried it, I never looked back.  Being able to pick and choose what music you want to listen to whenever you want, download those songs to your phone or computer, and be able to play them back wherever you are is priceless to me.

I figure I spend at least $10/month in the iTunes store.  So now, instead of spending that money in iTunes, I just spend it on my Spotify account.  If you’re a music lover like me, you definitely have to check it out.

One of my favorite things about Spotify is finding new artists.  I create radio stations based on artists I like and then when a song comes on I enjoy, I switch over to that artist’s album.  By doing this I have come to realize one of my favorite bands on the planet is Seether.  I especially like their “Holding on to Strings Better Left to Fray” album.

seether

I also remembered how much I like Fall Out Boy!  I don’t know why I always forget this…

falloutboy

Sharing music is fun too.  You can find friends on Facebook and follow them.  One of my friends created a 90s r&b/rap playlist, which I started listening to and all these memories from high school came flooding back!  It was awesome!  (Don’t you just love how music evokes memories?  LOVE!!)

One thing I wish Spotify would change is the ability to search for other users.  Maybe I’m just missing it, but there are people I’m not friends with on Facebook that I’d like to be able to follow.  Maybe in the future…

This is seriously the best money I’ve spent in a loooooooong time.  If you’re a big fan of music like me, you should definitely check it out.  You won’t regret it.  Bonus?  They have a free 30 day trial.  Love that.

What’s your favorite genre of music?  Have you ever been surprised to find you like something you otherwise didn’t think you would?

*Disclaimer:  all thoughts and opinions are my own.  Spotify DID NOT pay me to write this.  I just really love music.

4 thoughts on “Windows Down, Music Up

  1. There are many horror stories that have emerged over the years involving the locksmith market
    in the US. With numerous states not needing licensing
    to perform work, it is simple for non-professional individuals and
    companies to lure customers into their trap,
    and with the expansion of the internet is has ended up being even simpler to
    set up a front that looks legitimate.

  2. This design is spectacular! You most certainly know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved
    to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

