Lobstah Anyone?

**Sorry for the lack of posts for a while.  I am trying to move my blog to a self-hosted site and am having severe difficulty.  I have had this blog post drafted for a while waiting for my other blog site to be up and running.  As it seems I’m never going to figure the other site out, I wanted to post this here before it was just irrelevant.  Enjoy!**

I have always been a fan of seafood.  My personal favorite is crab, but I’m really not picky.  When Red Lobster contacted me and asked if I would be interested in joining them for a blogger event, I jumped at the chance!  A date night with the husband sans le bebe?  Yes, please!

On April 2, Jeff and I ventured north of town to one of the Red Lobster restaurants in our area.  We didn’t know what to expect, but we were not disappointed!  When we walked in, we were greeted by the hosts of the event, who immediately offered us cocktails.  Not a bad way to start the evening.

Now, most of you wouldn’t believe me if I told you, but I’m relatively shy and have some social anxiety.  It’s gotten much better since college, but I still get nervous if I have to do something out of my comfort zone.  Well, I’m not sure who exactly went to this event, but it wasn’t Bethany!  I walked right up to a group of girls sitting at the table and said, “Hi!  I’m Bethany from One Girl’s Taste on Life.  Nice to meet you!”  So not like me.  Usually I stand there and wait for someone to come up to me.  Ha.  Guess I’m comfortable around other bloggers?

Buffalo Chicken Bites

Two of the three girls sitting there were bloggers: Katie from Domestic Debacle and Bridgett, who writes for Savings Lifestyle.  We quickly got to talking about all kinds of fun things.  Turns out these two started a Facebook group for local bloggers and Katie was trying to find me to add!  Fun!

The other two bloggers at the event were Lisa from Dayton MostMetro and Steve from Food Adventures with Superfry and the Big Ragu.  I was sitting at opposite ends of the table from them, so I wasn’t able to chat with them as much as I would have liked, though I did spend a little time with Steve at the end of the dinner.  Great guy!

Southwest Chicken Pizza

Anyhow, back to the event.  First off, Heidi started talking to us about the different changes Red Lobster has been making lately.  To start, they’ve realized Red Lobster needs to be less niche-y and offer more “land” options, so that’s what they did.  Instead of having a couple choices for those land lubbers, they’ve upped their game and offer more than twelve options that aren’t seafood based!

They’ve also introduced their Maine Stays, which are 15 entrees under $15 so you can afford to take the whole family out for a night on the town.  And if Mom is like me and trying to shed some pounds, she doesn’t have to skip out on dinner.  She can peruse the Lighthouse menu, which lists the calorie content of each individual item and helps you put together a yummy but still healthy meal!

Sweet Chili Shrimp

After Heidi finished talking, the great wait staff brought around some apps for us to try.  I sampled the southwest chicken pizza, the spicy buffalo chicken bites, the sweet chili shrimp, the coconut shrimp, and a lobster and crab stuffed mushroom.  Everything was delicious, but I think my favorite was the sweet chili shrimp.  Scrumptious!

Stuffed MushroomsWe were told to order whatever we wanted, so I started with a cup of clam chowder (theirs is probably my favorite of any restaurant I’ve ever tried).

Clam Chowder

For dinner I had the Bay Harbor Bake (I think that’s what it was called).  It was a mix of lobster, shrimp, scallops, and mussles over a lightly sauced linguine.  I wasn’t sure if I liked scallops or mussles, so I thought this was a great way to try them out…you know…on someone else’s dime.  Turns out I like both!

Bay Harbor Bake

Jeff opted for the parmesan crusted chicken alfredo, which was delicious!

Parmesan Crusted Chicken

After we were finished eating, the sneaky staff started bringing out desserts.  Like…a lot of them.  I was stuffed, but there was no way I wasn’t going to try the warm chocolate chip lava cookie.  (Apparently I was too excited about this one to keep the camera steady.)

Chocolate Chip Lava Cake

Or the chocolate wave.

Chocolate Wave

Or the warm apple crostada.

Apple Crostada

Oh, yeah.  Or the caramel cheesecake.  #fatty

Caramel Cheesecake

They were so generous.  Heidi told us to order desserts to take home!  We got some cheesecake for Jeff’s mom, who was watching the baby, and some chocolate cake for her husband.  We were very popular that night!

I had a really fun time at this event and look forward to having more meetups with local bloggers.  I can’t wait to make more “blends”!  (For those of you not familiar with that term, it means blog friends.)

I want to say a special thank you to Red Lobster for putting on the event that night.  It was very generous and I really appreciate it!

*Disclaimer:  I was provided with a free meal as well as some gift cards by Red Lobster, but all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

