Fit To Be Tied

I am not a gym rat. Not by a long shot. But for the last few months, my face has become a lot more familiar to the staff at my gym. Here’s what I’ve been doing the most of lately:

20130309-203351.jpg

ZUMBA
Zumba is awesome! It gets you moving, burns tons of calories, and it’s FUN! If you find a good teacher, the hour will fly by! My teacher gets my heart rate up in the 180s for about 75% of the class. Love it!

20130309-203226.jpg

RUNNING
I have started (and stopped) Couch to 5K about 897 times. OK really like 4, but still. I want to complete a whole set for once in my life and actually *gasp* run a 5k! I am currently farther than any other attempt I’ve made in the past. I am on week 6 of Ease into 5K (a different version of c25k with the same premise).  Just today I did Day 2 of this week.  I ran 10 minutes, walked 3, then ran 10 more minutes.  It was challenging but not unachievable.  My next run is just exactly that…a run.  I’m up to the daunting part of the training.  I warm up for 5 minutes then…run.  For 20 minutes.  Straight.  Yikes!  I’ll let you know how I do.

YOGA
I have never really been a yogi.  In fact, up until about two weeks ago I hadn’t really done yoga.  Not officially anyhow.  I had gone to a couple yogalates classes at my gym, but I really wanted to try a straight yoga class.  It’s definitely more challenging than I expected, but I really liked it!  The problem with this class is that it’s at 7p on Monday.  When Jake was going to bed early (and by early I mean 6:30p) it wasn’t a problem, but he stays up until 8p these days.  I just can’t miss hanging out with my buddy to go to yoga.  Luckily, my gym has introduced a new class at 11p on Fridays.  This will leave me just enough time to shower and get to work after if I close that day!

NEW OPTIONS
There are several things I haven’t really included in my workout routine that I am looking into these days.  One is P90X.  I’m still not convinced I want to start this program, but I might.  One of my coworkers loaned me his copy of it to try out.  I decided to complete Couch to 5k first before I attempt P90X as I want to actually finish Couch to 5k for once in my life.  I’m nearly there.  Then, I will think about starting P90X.

Another option I’m considering is checking out Pure Barre.  I’ve heard lots of good (and bad) things about this class.  Well, not really bad per se.  I’ve just heard it’s difficult at first.  One of my old coworkers told me she loved it, though it is tough at first.  I read on the website that the first class is free, so what’s there to lose?  If you don’t know what Pure Barre is:

Pure Barre is the fastest, most effective way to change the shape of your body. Using small isometric movements at the ballet barre set to motivating music, Pure Barre lifts your seat, tones your thighs, abs and arms and burns fat in record breaking time. Clients see results in just 10 classes, lose inches in weeks and have fun doing it!

Pure Barre was founded by dancer, choreographer and fitness guru, Carrie Rezabek Dorr. Carrie opened her first studio in the basement of an office building in Birmingham, MI in 2001. With no initial clients, staff, signage or even a bathroom, Carrie has grown Pure Barre in to the company it is today.  -From the Pure Barre Website

Finally, and probably most importantly, I am trying to spend as much time playing with Jake as possible.  Chasing a toddler around is fun and a workout in itself!  He could probably make me burn more calories than any other exercise program out there!  Last Sunday before work, we took a long walk to a local playground.  The playground is a mile away so I loaded him up in his wagon and we walked down there.  After we played a bit, I loaded him back up and we walked home.  I didn’t exert myself, I didn’t even try to walk fast.  But in 75 minutes I burned nearly 600 calories!  Bonus!

Basically, I am just trying to move more lately.  Instead of coming home and sitting until it’s time to go to bed, I find myself leaving the house at 8p after Jake goes to bed to hit the gym.  I like going to the gym that late because there’s not a whole ton of people crowding the machines.  I also feel like I can take my time and really focus on my workout instead of constantly thinking I need to rush home or rush to work.

I feel better about my health than I have in several years and I love the results I’m seeing!  I’ve lost 12 pounds since January 1.  I still have a ways to go, but seeing the results makes me want to work that much harder!

What is your favorite workout?  What new things are you hoping to try in the future?

12 thoughts on “Fit To Be Tied

  1. I love taking ZUMBA classes, I have the at home DVDs but NOTHING beats being in class, I swear its more fun & you burn more calories!! 🙂

    I’ve heard lots of great things about Pure Barre too, but haven’t really looked into it. If you decide to check it out, you’ll have to review it for us! 🙂

    I agree that its more relaxing to workout in the evening when the baby is in bed; I can totally just let loose and workout without any reservation.

    12lbs! YOU GO GIRL!! That’s awesome!! 😀 All your hard work is paying off!!

    • I definitely will review it if I do it. I’m very tempted and also very frightened at the same time. I know Emily from dailygarnish.com has been a few times and loves it.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Mar 12, 2013, at 9:12 AM, “One Girl’s Taste On Life”

    • Thanks! It helps to have a buddy!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Mar 12, 2013, at 9:16 AM, “One Girl’s Taste On Life”

    • My friend Carolyn and I are definitely doing the color run. I’d like to do some more, but haven’t looked into them yet. Did you ever take Cupcake on a 5k?

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Mar 12, 2013, at 9:36 AM, “One Girl’s Taste On Life”

  2. Great job! Keep up the good work!
    I have always wanted to be a runner but never attempted it. I’m hoping after I have this baby, I will start.

    • Did I know you were pregnant? Congratulations, girl!!!!

      I have wanted to be a runner for a long time. I’m still not convinced I was meant to be one, but I just keep on keeping on in case my body decides it likes it. 🙂

      • Thanks! I’m due July 5th with a girl;) This is my 2nd pregnancy & I’m gaining more weight this time. So I’m hoping I will like running too! I’m 100% out of shape!
        Just keep on trying and you probably won’t be able to live without running!

  3. I have done P90X a few times and it is really good. But it is intense! It also requires a lot of dedication for the full 90 days and a lot of self discipline. It sounds like you are well on your way!

    As far as my workouts, I do strength training and core M,W,F. These are similar to the P90X workouts where there is very little downtime and you push yourself a lot. A lot like cross fit if you’ve looked into that. Then on Tu,Th,Sa I run. And sometimes Sunday too.

    My best advice is to do what feels good and what makes you happy. It isn’t fun if it is a chore and then you will give up. Make it fun and make yourself happy!

    • Yeah I’m not sure I’m up for it. Though I do work out most days so we will see… 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Mar 12, 2013, at 5:00 PM, “One Girl’s Taste On Life”

Leave a Reply

