14 Months

My little booger is 14 months old today.

IMG_7127edited

He is the best little boy in the world.  He is an absolute joy to be around.  Just ask his daycare teachers!  I will be the first to admit babies are not necessarily my thing.  Toddlers on the other hand are awesome!  Jeff and I both agree that if we could have a baby born around 9 or 10 months, that would be ideal.  They sleep through the night, they interact more, and they don’t need constant attention.

Jake is independent, but definitely loves attention from his mama and daddy.  He plays well by himself but loves sharing with us.

IMG_7120edited

He’s smart as a whip too!  He now knows the words shoe, book, blankie, head, and hand.  He will show you his belly on command.  He says “tan to” (thank you) when he gets and gives you something.  (You’re all pronouncing “tan to” in your heads right now, aren’t you?)

He knows exactly where we keep the animal crackers and will try to get one any time I go into the pantry, which is often especially at dinner time.  He likes to pick out his own from our super huge tub of them and prefers to have one for each hand.

IMG_7101edited

His favorite foods are still mainly fruits and veggies, though he does eat more meat now.  His top picks are blueberries, grapes, and sweet potato.  He also loves mac and cheese, sloppy joe, and spaghetti & meatballs.  Typical kiddo.

Most of the time, he eats exactly what we eat.  Every so often if we have something with seafood in it or I think it will be too spicy for him, I give him something else, but that doesn’t happen often.  I do know he does not like spicy yet, but that’s to be expected.

IMG_7105edited

He still does not like frozen things either in his mouth or on his body.  He bumps his head sometimes at daycare and they put a cold pack on him.  They always say he hates the ice pack more than the bump!

We’ve had a little…uh…frustration (for lack of a better word) with meal times lately.  He has this bad habit of trying to slam his body into the back of his high chair over and over again.  I asked people on Facebook what was going on with this and everyone said it’s normal, but I don’t like it.  I’m afraid he’s going to hit his head or hurt himself in some way.  Plus it’s not going away.  No matter how many times I tell him “no” he continues.

IMG_7140edited

Speaking of “no”, he thinks that word is a game.  Whenever I tell him “no”, he just looks at me and grins the biggest, goofiest grin he has.  This, of course, makes me smile, which in turn confuses the heck out of him!  I try to keep a straight face, but the cutie pie is manipulative!  😉

Jake is a great sleeper, for the most part.  His most typical routine is to go to bed around 7:30p and sleep until 6:00a.  I wish he would go to bed a little later and wake a little later, but that’s just me being selfish.  He has to leave for daycare around 7:30a, so honestly the 6a wakeup time is actually pretty ideal.  It allows us time to play with him and get him ready at a leisurely pace instead of scrambling.  I leave for work at 7a, so if he slept much later, I wouldn’t see him for very long nor would I be able to help get him dressed.  Still, waking up at 5a so I can have a little quiet time gets tiring some days.

IMG_7115edited

My little guy is seriously the best thing that’s ever happened to me.  I love playing with him.  I love watching him grow and learn.  He is getting so big so fast!  Every time he does something new I am amazed.  It’s awesome how their little brains soak up everything like a sponge.

Every month brings new, exciting changes.  Instead of getting nervous when I have to watch him by myself, I find I encourage Jeff to do things on his own now.  I have no problem watching Jake by myself for long stretches of time.  I know most of my SAHM friends are thinking “Yeah, I do this every day” but when you’re a working mama who has a retail schedule and aren’t home a lot of nights and weekends, being the sole person in charge can be daunting!

IMG_7183edited

Jake is my little buddy now.  We go places and do things, he helps me with chores, and we play tons.  He’s the best friend a girl could have and I love every minute I’m with him.  If the years to come are anything like the past 14 months, we will be the luckiest parents on the planet!

Doesn’t hurt that he’s super cute too! (This is a new face that he makes all the time.  Love it so much!)

2 thoughts on “14 Months

Leave a Reply

