Coming Clean

My house, while cute, has a lot of potential.  We’ve revamped the outside and worked a little on the inside, but now it’s time to start the bigger projects.  Originally our first room to get an overhaul was supposed to be the kitchen, but my husband texted me the other day asking me what I thought about adding cabinets to our laundry room.  I have been wanting to do that for a long time, so I said sure!

My brother-in-law is a civil engineer who spends a lot of time designing things on a computer program.  He was the one who helped us create the plans for our patio project.  Anyhow, he came over the other weekend, took a bunch of measurements, and drafted a couple laundry room plans for us.  Then, he and Jeff headed to a cabinet store to get more ideas.

Today, I believe the work is going to get started.  We are basically revamping the entire room.  Here’s what it looks like now:

image(2) image(1) image

See?  Lots of potential.  His job is to add cabinets, counter tops, and more storage.  My job is to make it pretty.  That’s where you guys come in.  I need some help.  I’m not horrible at decorating, but I’m definitely not the world’s best.  Not like Supermom!  Here’s what I know:

I want dark wood cabinets and neutral counter tops like this:

So my question is…what color should I paint the walls?  Do I go with a neutral color like Oat Cake?

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 10.43.42 AM

What about a teal like Mermaid Treasure or Gem Turquoise?

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 10.47.10 AMA purple like Twilight Pearl?  (Is it bad that I especially like this color because it has “Twilight” in the name?)

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 10.48.10 AMOr how about a yellow like Lemon Tart?Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 10.48.54 AM

I honestly have no clue what I’m going to do or what will look good.  What do you think?  What color is your laundry room?  Oh, and Supermom, what brand of paint is your favorite?  I’m always up for suggestions.

9 thoughts on “Coming Clean

  1. Bethany, such potential. I’d stick with a light (almost pale) color on the walls. Also, what about a very pale peachy color? I’m not good at coordinating a room, but i know what I like when I see it. ROFL

  2. I vote for neutral oat cake…. While the turquoise is beautiful, it’s a but trendy. If you go with the neutral you can accessorize with bright color (this is where you could use turquoise) and that way, when you get tired of it, you can cheaply and easily change the color of the room with little money by changing accessories.

    • I agree. We need to start your kitchen!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Jan 19, 2013, at 11:36 AM, “One Girl’s Taste On Life”

  3. Neutral color walls with bright decorations and linens. I say this because of two reasons, unless you want to repaint it in a couple of years you don’t want anything bright because you’ll get tired of it. Two, if you guys decide to sell it’ll be harder to do with a brighter color. To appease both needs I would go with the Daffodil Yellow.

  4. I say go for some color! A yellow or blue! I find it hard to accessorize the laundry room, sp color is the best way. We are getting ready to remodel our kitchen and laundry room in the next couple months too. I was actually thinking of some sort of blue. I think I saw an example on pinterest and fell in love.
    Keep us updated!

    • I will! To be honest I’m leaning more towards a neutral because I painted my room and bathroom in color and now I hate it. I’m afraid the same thing will happen with the laundry room. But if I do go with a color, I think it might be blue!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Jan 19, 2013, at 1:22 PM, “One Girl’s Taste On Life”

Leave a Reply

