Reading Rainbow

Do you guys remember that show?  Man, I LOVED it!  The books came alive!  They literally came alive!

Anyhow…my friend, Heather, started a great link up for us moms out there that want new ideas for books for their kids!  What a fantastic idea!

Jake is all about textures lately.  He loves feeling things, tasting things, etc.  When I pulled out the “That’s not my…” series, he loved them!

These books allow him to feel various textures.  He is very good at picking out the “different” texture on each page.

See how fluffy Black Bear’s ears are?

OK, it’s kind of hard to tell from that picture.  But what about Brown Dog?

He has mega fluffy ears!

I’ve gotten some ideas from Heather as well as Joanna.  I’m always looking for more, though!  If you’re a mom, or even if you’re not, leave a comment below telling us what books you recommend for your little ones!  Even better, if you are a blogger and want to participate, head on over to Heather’s blog and link up!

9 thoughts on “Reading Rainbow

    • Thanks, Gretchen! Ill check them out!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Nov 14, 2012, at 6:36 AM, “One Girl’s Taste On Life”

    • Absolutely! Thanks for having such a great link up! Maybe you’ll be like Brittany and get your name published in the Dayton Daily News for thinking up such a great idea!! 🙂 (Let’s make that our goal, shall we?)

  1. Bethany, Grandpa Sweeney always told us that “reading gives us keys to the world”. Good job, Moms, for teaching your children to enjoy reading. If Bethany and her siblings were bored, I would hand them a book.

    • I love to read and I know I got that from my parents. I just hope I can pass this great hobby along to my little guy!

  2. I hosted an Usborne Book Party and got so many good books. We also really like Sandra Boynton books – she has so many good ones. My son is 15 months and I’ve been reading to him since he was born and he loves to sit and look at books – it’s the first thing he goes to when he goes in his room and it just makes me smile to see him sitting there flipping through books on his own.

    • That’s awesome! I wish jake did that!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Nov 15, 2012, at 9:04 AM, “One Girl’s Taste On Life”

  3. I LOVE this idea! My little man is soo into books and I’m currently taking a Children’s Lit grad course and have learned about a ton of great children’s books. I’d love to start sharing/learning about new books!

Leave a Reply

