Breakfast Bowls

A few years ago, I decided to really get serious about my health.  I was eating crap all day every day.  It was readily accessible, you see, because I work in a drug store.  Rows and rows of candy, chips, and junk food call to me daily.  It was no big thing for me to grab a bag of chips, a frozen dinner, and a candy bar as a meal.  No whole foods, hardly any fruits and veggies, all crap.  No wonder I felt horrible all the time.

When I made the transition over to the healthy living side of things, I typically had a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast.  Every day I’d have a packet of oatmeal with a banana or some dried cherries and a scoop of peanut butter.  Sometimes I’d switch it up and have some egg whites with cheese on a couple pieces of toast, but the oatmeal was so much more portable than the egg whites.

Well, after a pretty solid six months to a year of this, I burned myself out on oatmeal.  I get a craving for it once every couple months, but I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to eat it on a consistent basis like I used to.

Where did that leave me?  I knew I needed something that was pretty quick, easy, and portable.  Enter the breakfast bowl.  I discovered one of the tricks to making really good home fries was to cook the potato before putting it in a frying pan.  I always wondered how these breakfast places had such light, fluffy potatoes with a slight crisp on the edges.  Every time I tried to make home fries, I burned the outside!  (Of course, it doesn’t hurt that most places use precooked, prediced, frozen potatoes…)

Breakfast Bowls

1 medium potato
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/2 tbsp olive oil
salt
pepper
2 egg whites (or 1 whole egg)
Optional toppings:  sauteed veg, shredded cheese, ham, bacon, sausage, fresh herbs, hot sauce, etc  (basically anything you’d use on an omelet)

Microwave the potato in it’s jacket.  Do not pierce.  The exact time depends on the size of your potato.  For a medium to large red potato, I typically do about 4 minutes.  If it’s a russet or Idaho potato, you may want to increase the time by a minute or so.  Once you do it a few times, you’ll learn how long it should take.

While the potato is cooking, heat the olive oil in a pan over medium heat.  Saute your onion until translucent.  When the potato is done cooking, remove and dice.  Add the potato to the pan and stir to coat in oil.  Cook on medium, stirring occasionally, until the potatoes become crispy.  You can flavor your potatoes any way you want.  I tend to use salt, pepper, and a little garlic I grate over the pan.

Once your potatoes have finished cooking, put them in your desired bowl.  Add a little more oil to the pan and fry up your egg any way you desire.  I usually scramble them or fry them flat.

Time to build your bowl.  Potatoes first, then any veg you want, condiments, cheese, and top with the egg.  I like topping with the egg because the residual heat warms the cheese and makes it ooey gooey.  Apparently in this breakfast bowl, I decided to mix the egg in.  Or leave it out.  I can’t remember!  (Confession:  I took these pictures weeks ago…)

OK, so this dish isn’t entirely quick when you’re trying to get out the door in the morning, but it’s so good it’s worth the 5-10 minutes it takes.  I usually eat this for breakfast when I work at 1P.  Gives me time to savor the flavors.  Yum!

BTW, can you freeze cooked egg whites?

7 thoughts on “Breakfast Bowls

  1. Pingback: Breakfast | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

