Harvest Ravioli For One

One day a few months ago, my dad and his wife came down from Cleveland to visit Jake.  You remember Jake, right?  Cute little booger of a boy.

Anyway, we had gotten together for a little visit and wanted to have dinner somewhere.  Since Jake’s schedule is a little unpredictable right now, we opted to order in from one of the restaurants around me.  We all like Italian so we chose Bravo.  After looking over the menu, I landed on a delicious looking ravioli dish:

I love sweet potatoes and brown butter, so this seemed right up my alley.  Oh. My. God.  Deliciousness ensued!  The dish would have been OK with the beef ravioli and the brown butter sage sauce, but the sweet potatoes put it over the top!  The slight sweetness and smooth texture of the sweet potatoes mixed with the meatiness of the beef and the sinful brown butter was to die for!  I cleaned my plate and have been dreaming of that dish ever since.  Until the other day…

Wednesday I was getting some chores done, writing blog posts, and doing various other tasks when I looked up and it was 11:ooa!  I had totally skipped breakfast.  I was trying to figure out what exactly I wanted to eat, but none of the breakfast items I had sounded good.  That’s when I remembered the ravioli dish.  I had picked up some Crab and Shrimp Raviolis from the farmer’s market on the day of the Color Run and I was anxious to use them.  I had also roasted some sweet potatoes for Jake the day before so I had all the necessary components at my finger tips.  It was time to get crackin’…

Harvest Ravioli

6 raviolis of your choice (I used crab & shrimp but wild mushroom would have been good too)
3 tbsp butter cut into 1 tbsp pieces
5-6 sage leaves, torn
1/4 cup roasted sweet potato*
salt for pasta water
cracked black pepper
Parmesan cheese

In a small pot, bring enough water to a boil to cook your raviolis.  Salt the water and then cook according to package directions.

In a separate small saucepan, add your butter.  It helps to have them cut into pieces to help brown more evenly.  Melt butter and continue to cook, whisking, until the butter foams and you start to see small brown flecks on the bottom of the pan.  You will also start to smell a nutty aroma.  It only takes a couple minutes.  Remove from heat and set aside.

Add your sage leaves and sweet potato to the butter and toss to coat.  Your sage leaves might pop in the butter.  That’s OK.  I took my potatoes from the fridge so I ended up putting my saucepan back on the burner for a quick minute to ensure the potato got heated through.  It was a small dice, so it didn’t take long.  I also added just a little bit of pepper to give it a bit of spice.

After your pasta is done cooking, scoop them out and add them straight into the hot butter.  Toss to coat and then plate up.  I garnished my dish with a bit of Parmesan cheese and a small bunch of sage.  Beautiful AND delicious!

*I cut my sweet potatoes into a small dice, tossed them with olive oil, cinnamon, rosemary, and just a hint of salt and pepper, then roasted them in a 400º oven for 25 minutes.  Perfection!

3 thoughts on “Harvest Ravioli For One

  1. Pingback: Main Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

