Three Little Soups (Part 2)

The other day, I got ambitious and decided to make three very different, very unique soups.  You can check out my recipes for Vegetable Tortellini and Beef Pho here.  If you’re more into spicy, meaty, and hearty, keep reading.

A long time ago, I received a Cuisine at Home cookbook in the mail.  It was one of those trial offer type things I usually throw away, but when I read “Absolutely no ads!” on the cover, I thought I’d take a peek inside.  I was blown away by the various recipes I discovered in the pages.  Not only did the magazine include delicious looking recipes for Shrimp Risotto, Greek Chicken Roulades, and French Onion Salisbury Steak, it was brimming with information.  Everything from making your own pizza dough to the best way to crust chicken (for Pecan Crusted Chicken Salad) to tips and timesavers from the readers leapt from the pages.

As I was pouring over my cookbooks, magazines, and Pinterest boards, I stumbled on my Cuisine At Home cookbook.  I knew I liked most everything in the magazine and wondered if they had any yummy soups I could add to my cooking list.  There, on page 47, sat a delicious looking brothy soup staring back at me.  I read the ingredients list and saw it called for Mini Bacon Meatballs.  SCORE!  I scribbled the ingredients list down and bolted for the grocery store.  Mini Bacon Meatball soup was waiting!

Mini Bacon Meatballs
(from Cuisine at Home meatballs)

2 strips bacon, diced
1/4 cup diced onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 pound ground sirloin
1/4 pound ground turkey
1/4 cup dry bread crumbs
2 tbsp minced fresh parsley
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 400º.  Spray a broiler pan with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.  Cook bacon in a saucepan over medium heat until slightly crisp; set aside on paper towels.  In the same pan with the bacon drippings, cook onion until softened.  Add garlic to pan and cook until fragrant (about 1 minute).  Do not burn garlic.  Set aside to cook slightly

In a large bowl, combine meats, bacon & onion mixture, bread crumbs, spices, and egg.  Mix until combined.  Use a small scoop to form mixture into balls.  You want them to be about 1 inch in diameter (or bite sized).  Place on broiler rack and bake for about 10 minutes or until cooked through.

Remove meatballs from oven and let cool.  I made a double batch and intended to freeze half, but I kept nibbling on them throughout the day.  I even made a “cheeseburger”.  In other words, I heated a few meatballs, topped them with American cheese, and ate them with ketchup.  Oh my.  They were so delicious!  One of my favorite parts about these meatballs are the little bacon pieces sticking out.  Delish!

Now…on to the soup!  I had no idea what the title of the recipe meant, but I sure did think albondigas was fun to say!  Al-bon-dee-ghas!  Upon further googling, I discovered this word was Spanish for Mexican meatball soup.  Yum!

Albondigas Soup
(from Cuisine at Home magazine)

1 cup diced onion
2 tbsp olive oil
4 garlic cloves, grated
2 tsp chili powder
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
2 cups water
2 corn tortillas, sliced in small strips
1 cup halved grape tomatoes, divided
1 can whole kernel corn, drained
2 cups sliced button mushrooms
1 recipe Mini Bacon Meatballs
2 tbsp torn fresh cilantro (optional)
sour cream (optional)

Heat olive oil in a large stock pot over medium heat.  Saute onions until softened.  Add garlic and chili powder; cook 1 minute.  Add broth, water, corn tortillas, and 1/2 cup tomatoes.  Simmer for 5 minutes.

Puree soup with an immersion blender (or in a regular blender).  Strain soup through a mesh strainer and return to stock pot.  Add corn, mushrooms, and meatballs.  Simmer over medium-low heat for 5 minutes.  Season with salt, pepper, and lime juice before serving.  Garnish with cilantro and sour cream if desired.

2 thoughts on “Three Little Soups (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Soups, Salsas, Salads, and Dressings | One Girl's Taste On Life

  2. Pingback: Main Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

