September Foodie Penpals

So, um, *whistles and shifts eyes uncomfortably* yeah.  It’s been a while since my last post.  In fact, it was nearly one month ago exactly.  The last post I did was Foodie Penpals for August.  Whoops!  I know bloggers aren’t supposed to apologize for not posting, but I’m breaking the rules.  Sorry, y’all!   I’ll explain everything soon, but for today just enjoy seeing my goodies from last month’s foodie penpals!

In August, I had a bit of a snafu with my foodie penpals.  Everything got worked out eventually, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit hesitant going into September.  Luckily, I was not disappointed by the women I got paired up with.  Before 24 hours were up, I was emailed by Melaina from It Really Works!.  She was so sweet and got right on asking me about my foodie preferences and everything.  I made sure I was equally as prompt with Sarah.

After a bit of emailing back and forth, I anxiously awaited my box of food stuffs.  One day, as my mom and I were heading out to go to a Thai Cooking Class (more on that to come), I glanced at the front stoop and saw a big box!  Yippee!  My package had arrived.

I threw the car in park and ran up the path to grab my box.  I then took it back to the car with me where Mom and I tore into it.  Here’s what I got:

Pomi Tomatoes-According to Melaina, they are “the best packaged tomatoes you’ll find!”  My mom agreed with her stating she used to use them a long time ago.  I don’t remember her using them, but I can’t wait to cook with them!  Mel suggested tossing them with some al dente pasta, olive oil, and fresh basil.  Yum!

Chocolate Chunk Brownies-My favorite dessert is a brownie, so I was super excited to see these!  They were delicious!  Moist and flavorful and oh so yummy!  They had a hint of something in them that I couldn’t quite put my finger on.  Maybe espresso?

Spicy Snack Mix-This Colorado-based company (Rocky Mountain Treats) has all kinds of flavors according to Mel.  I’m not a huge spicy fan (I like it to a degree) but this snack mix is dang good!  I definitely have to have a beverage to each more than a tablespoon, but I’m OK with that.  🙂

Multi-seed Crackers-Crunchmaster knew what it was doing when they made these crackers.  I’m not gluten free, but boy are these tasty!  I love garlic so Mel sent me the Roasted Garlic flavor.  They are thin, crispy, light, and airy!  The flavors burst in your mouth!  They’d be good with a spread of some sort of by themselves.  You know what they’d be especially good on?  A big salad!

Finally, Mel threw in some Dove chocolates “because a girl can never have too much chocolate”.  This girl is spooky…she knew I liked brownies, garlic, AND Dove chocolate!  This was one of the best boxes I’ve ever gotten.  Thanks so much, Melaina!  You can send me goodies anytime.  🙂

Want to get involved with Foodie Penpals?  Visit here to sign up!

If you want to check out what I sent to Sarah, visit her blog!

4 thoughts on “September Foodie Penpals

  1. Where do you buy your garlic butter? And also, where does DLM keep that seasoning? I looked for it a couple weeks ago when I was there and could not find it!
    Welcome back!

    • Which garlic butter? The one I made from the spice mixture from the fruit farm? I would probably keep it in the fridge.

      The seasoning is by the meat counter. Some have it on the counter, others have a rack next to it.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

