Monster Mash

I’m not a big fan of trail mix.  I mean, I am, but I don’t know that it’s the best bang for your buck when you’re trying to eat healthy.  Case in point, take a look at the ingredients for Target’s Monster Trail Mix:

Yep, you got it.  Nuts, candy, fruit, candy, candy.  Now, I know there are healthier trail mixes out there, but really.  Who doesn’t want chocolate and peanut butter chips in their trail mix?

So, back to my original statement:  I’m not a big fan of trail mix (when you’re trying to eat healthy).  When you want an indulgent snack, I’m all about it!  You see, I can’t stop at the recommended 1/4 cup serving size.  My serving size is more like 1/2 cup 1 cup.

Of course, this didn’t stop me from grabbing a bag of the Monster Trail Mix a few years ago when I was looking for a “healthy” snack.  After all, it’s healthier than a candy bar, right?  Anyone?  Anyone?  That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

The first thing I thought when I popped a handful of mix in my mouth was, “OMG how delicious is this?!”  The second thing was, “This would make excellent cookies!”  The idea was born.  It only took me two years to make the cookies though…

Monster Mix Cookies
(adapted from the Nestle Toll House base recipe)

2 1/4 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
1 package Archer Farms Monster Trail Mix

Preheat oven to 375º.  In a small bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt.  Mix well.  In a second bowl, cream together butter, sugar, and brown sugar.  Add the vanilla and mix well.  Add the eggs one at a time until fully incorporated.  Add the flour mixture slowly, scraping down the sides as necessary.

Once your batter is fully mixed, add the bag of trail mix.  You can also add extras if you’d like.  I prefer adding an addition bit of peanut butter pieces if available, but then, I love peanut butter almost as much as I love Jakey.  Almost.


(Is this not the cutest picture?!  I giggle every time I see it.)

Once mixed, use a small scoop to portion out the cookies onto a baking sheet.  Bake for 9-11 minutes or until lightly golden on the edges.  Let cool and enjoy, preferably with a glass of cold milk.

Tip: You can also scoop the dough out onto a silpat or piece of waxed paper and freeze unbaked.  Once frozen, move them to a Ziploc bag and store in the freezer.  When you’re ready to bake, preheat your oven or toaster oven and bake frozen until desired doneness is achieved.  Works beautifully!

Make sure to save some to take to your pregnant friend along with chocolate milk.  I forgot.  Bad friend.  Next time, girl!  Next time!

11 thoughts on “Monster Mash

  1. Pingback: Desserts | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

