Pulled Chicken Quesadillas

The other day, my sister sent me a random text about her favorite pulled chicken.  She and I do that sometimes.  This was the second time she’d told me about the chicken in a month, so I asked her to resend me the recipe.  “She must really like it!” I thought.

She linked me to the recipe and then added these instructions:

“I add a packet of chili seasoning to the onions while sauteing.  And I toss a can of rotel into the crockpot when adding all the stuff together… Pretty spicy.  Freezable though.”

I added it to my monthly meal plan immediately!

Saturday, before heading to work, I quickly threw the ingredients in the crock pot and left serving instructions with Jeff.  I called him later to ask him how it was and he said it was good!  When I came home from work Sunday, he excitedly told me what he had for lunch.

“You know that chicken you made yesterday?  I turned it into a quesadilla!”

What a great idea!  I was on my way home from work today when the image of his quesadilla popped in my head.  I couldn’t think of anything else I wanted, so I came home and threw one together real quick.

It. Was. Delicious.

This chicken is probably the best pulled chicken I have had in a while.  I forgot to add the chili seasoning, but I did throw in a can of black beans!  Corn would have been great with this too.  If you’re looking for a quick, slow cooker meal that your whole family will love, make this pulled chicken.

Quesadilla optional.

Pulled Chicken Quesadillas
(adapted from this recipe on Good Life Eats)

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, trimmed
1 1/4 tsp cumin
1 tbsp chili powder
1/2 tsp coriander
1/4 tsp paprika
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/3 cup chicken broth
1 good squeeze Gourmet Garden cilantro (or 1/3 cup chopped cilantro leaves)
2 limes*
1 large onion, chopped
1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp olive oil
1 can Rotel
1 can black beans

In a large skillet, heat your oil and then saute the onion until soft.  Add the spices and mix well.  Let cook for about 2 minutes.

Meanwhile, season your chicken with salt and pepper, then put in the slow cooker.  Top with the juice of both limes.  Put your spice and onion mixture over chicken.  Add the cans of Rotel and black beans to the slow cooker.  Cook on low for 3-5 hours, or until your chicken is cooked through.

To serve, pull the chicken out of the slow cooker and shred with two forks.  Put chicken back in slow cooker to soak up all the juices.  Then use however you desire.  As stated above, our favorite way is in quesadillas, but you could have soft tacos, hard tacos, taco salad, enchiladas…the list is endless.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Pulled Chicken Quesadillas

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap: 8/5-8/11 | Healthy Heddleston

  2. Pingback: Calendar of Eats | One Girl's Taste On Life

  3. Pingback: Main Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

