Foodie Finds

First off, can you believe it’s August already?  My birthday is in two weeks!  Yay!

So yesterday I told you guys all about what I received in my Foodie Penpal box last month.  I love getting my boxes in the mail and almost immediately text my manager to share.  I got her into the Foodie Penpal movement a couple months ago and so far she’s loved it.

However, she has a “sensitive” palate.  What I mean is…she’s boring.  (Love ya, Kristy!)  She doesn’t like Mexican.  She doesn’t like Asian.  Food can’t be too spicy, have tomatoes, or be unfamiliar.  I honestly don’t know what she eats every day.

In one of her foodie boxes, she got a bunch of Hawaiian products.  You all should know what my reaction was.  My ears perked up, my eyes started twinkling, and my fingers itched to get ahold of her products.  Then she said the words I was dying to hear, “Bethany, would you like to have the items I won’t use?”

Uh…YEAH!  I really love Hawaii so much.

When she brought the items in, I dug through the bag.  Two things caught my eye:  Kona coffee bars and Hawaiian Pride marinades and sauces.  Well, the Kona bars lasted all of two days.  (Two bars=two days.  Gone.)

(source)

The sauces, however, got put in the panty and forgotten.  I usually go through my pantry every month or two and make a list of things I need to use.  I knew I would get back to it eventually.

Last night, I was trying to decide what I wanted to make for dinner when my eyes landed on something I’d purchased at Trader Joe’s a couple weeks back.

(source)

Confession:  I had no idea what Bool Kogi was until I saw it on the Jon & Kate + 8 “Korean Dinner” episode.  What can I say?  Guilty pleasure.  Don’t judge.

When I spotted the meat, I knew I wanted to make some sort of rice to go with it.  I sifted through my pantry and found Kim Chee Fried Rice sauce out of the Foodie Penpal box from Kristy.  Perfect accompaniment!

(source)

I quickly cooked some jasmine rice, scrambled some eggs, and put the dish together.  Then, I threw the bool kogi on the grill to cook (took less than 5 minutes because the meat is so thin).

Both of these items were so easy to make and seriously so good!  Jeff even commented “add this to the make again list!”  If you’re looking for an easy, delicious meal, consider these items!  The only thing I would do differently would be to add some veggies (which I was low on).

*I would also remember to take pictures of the finished dish.  What can I say?  I was hungry!*

2 thoughts on “Foodie Finds

    • I love food and I love mail. And Lindsay (the originator of the program) lives in Columbus, which is just a stone’s throw from Dayton. Gotta help the local girls!

Leave a Reply

