Summatime Cookin’

I love Mexican food.  I could definitely eat Mexican at least once a week day.  🙂  So when I got to the “Tacos” day on my meal plan, I decided to try a new recipe.  We usually have chicken soft tacos, where I use Lawry’s Caribbean Jerk marinade on chicken.  Or, not very often, I use ground turkey to make the filling and we have a traditional “beef” taco.

I wanted something new.  I went to my trusty Allrecipes site and did a quick search.  I found the following recipe for the marinade:

  • 1/3 cup white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon ground white pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon paprika

I quickly threw the marinade together before work and let my beef soak in it throughout the day.  When I came home, it was so hot out, I opted to cook the meat on the stovetop rather than outside on the grill.  It turned out great!

I just added a couple toppings (lettuce, cheese, salsa…we’re simpletons in this household) and chowed down!  This marinade was SO GOOD.  Will definitely be making this again!

To wash everything down, I decided to use my Pomegranate Oolong tea I got from Jungle Jim’s to make a Tennessee staple:  sun tea!  It’s so easy.  Take a big pitcher (you can use glass or plastic, but I prefer glass) and fill it with water.

For traditional sun tea, you add a couple family sized tea bags or 4 personal sized tea bags.  For my flavored sun tea, you add 3 personal sized bags and 1 flavored bag.  I find that if you use ONLY flavored bags, it is TOO STRONG.  Place the bags in the pitcher and cover the opening with plastic wrap.  This serves two purposes.  First, it keeps out any bugs.  Second, it helps create a “greenhouse” type effect and makes the tea percolate faster.

Once the tea is the desired color, you just take it inside, remove the bags and throw them away, and pour yourself a nice tall glass.

Ice and colorful umbrella optional.

5 thoughts on “Summatime Cookin’

    • WTH? Michael, I believe you secretly want to be a redneck. I could introduce you to quite a few being a good ‘ole (not) born and bred TN girl…

  1. Pingback: Main Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

