Do The Damn Thing

I have never been a lover of exercise.  I wasn’t in team sports in high school.  I never was one to say “my favorite thing to do is go for a run.”  But I do, however, love the way I feel after a really good workout.  You know…the endorphin high.  There’s really nothing else like it in the world.

A few years ago, I woke up one day and decided “today is the day I’m going to change my life.”  I had had this thought several times over the years, but for some reason this time felt different.

I needed a plan.  I made a pact with Carolyn that we would check in with each other every week to discuss gains or losses, challenges we’d faced, and to get encouragement to keep going.  I told myself “you are hungry again a few hours after you eat whether you choose junk food or healthy food so why not choose healthy food?”  I made myself workout as many days as I could.  And you know what?

It worked.  (Weird picture, I know!)

From August 2009 to May 2010, I lost 30 pounds.  I looked and felt great!  I had one of the best summers of my life that year.  I felt so healthy that summer.  One of my main reasons for losing weight was to be at a healthy starting point for when I got pregnant.  As luck would have it, I ended up getting pregnant in September of 2010.

Then, after a tragedy, I started spiraling.  I ate what I wanted, stopped working out, and lost my direction.  When I got pregnant again in March of 2011, I had put almost all of my weight back on.  I never gained my direction back even though I tried many, many times.  By the time I gave birth to Jake, I was 70 pounds heavier than I had been at my healthy weight.

Now, seven months postpartum, I am still about 30 pounds away from my “goal”.  I still haven’t found my drive or motivation, but I have started to search for it.  After a friend’s husband told me he’d signed up for a local 5k, I decided I would too.  Then I began training using the couch to 5k iPhone app.  (This was about 2 weeks ago.)

A few days after that, I began seeing advertising all over the blog world about some boot camp thing.  Brittany had done it before and raved about it.  I have always complained that I needed to add strength training in to my cardio but never knew what to do.  This was my sign!  I signed up and convinced Carolyn to sign up with me.  We both need our butts kicked into gear.

So, to make a long story short (too late), I am starting the process to get healthy again.  In addition to training for a 5k and “going to boot camp“, I have begun logging my food.  I am focusing on eating more whole foods and choosing water over soda.  I am trying to remember to take my vitamins and get my sleep.  I am trying to do this.

No.  I am going to do this. 

For my husband, for my son, and for me.  I deserve it.

***************************************************************************

Update:
Went to the gym this morning (7.23) and KILLED IT!  Did Couch to 5k W1D3 and BBBC Workout A.  Feelin’ it!  I CAN do this!

7 thoughts on “Do The Damn Thing

  1. Great post and thanks for sharing! You can do it. Just have to change/program your mind to it. I personally use the “Lose It” app for the iPhone to track my food intake, calories, exercise, etc. Keep us posted on the progress!

    • I like My Fitness Pal, plus Carolyn uses it and we can see each others foods and progress. Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. I am so sorry to hear about your miscarriage- I can’t even imagine how difficult it must have been for you.
    It’s amazing to me how differently I think now that I have my daughter. She has certainly influenced me to make healthier choices and I’m grateful for that.
    Looking forward to following your journey! 🙂

    • Thanks, Kelly. It was hard, but it taught me that I really did want to have kids. (I was on the fence beforehand.) I’m so glad I did too, because Jake is one of the two best things that have ever happened to me. Of course, Jeff is the other one. 😛

  3. Every day is a new day. Every moment we have the chance to make choices in the directions we want to take. You can make these changes. Just take things day by day, meal by meal, moment by moment. And remember its worth it. YOu can certianly do it!

  4. WAY TO GO GIRL! Getting motivated is definitely tough especially as a new mommy, but once you get going is totally worth it. I really need to get into more a routine instead of working out here and there, hopefully soon I can!

    • Thanks, Alicia! I’m trying! (I”m currently sitting in workout clothes waiting for the boy to go to bed so I can hit the gym.) I’ll admit, Tina’s boot camp is no joke, but I’m muddling along with the best of them. I found that signing up for a 5k was great motivation. I suggest doing something with a set completion date. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

