Barenaked

Ladies!!  BNL!!  The Ladies!!  I don’t care what you call them, they are still amazing in concert as usual.  Sunday evening Carolyn, my sister-in-law Shannon, and I went to see them in concert at the Fraze pavilion here in Dayton.

It had been super hot all weekend (I’m talking over 100º) but miraculously started cooling down on Sunday morning.  By the time we went to the concert, I think it was about 80º or 85º.  It was actually a pretty pleasant night!

(Notice the thrilled-looking guy in the bottom right corner…)

We grabbed some cocktails and made our way to our seats.  A couple things to note:
1.  The Fraze takes only cash, so don’t forget to bring some!
2.  They have a yummy punch made with passion fruit rum, grenadine, Sierra Mist, and orange juice that is very good.  It’s actually relatively strong!
3.  Those Daily’s Frozen Pouches are super sweet and not very strong.  I suggest the punch instead.

4.  Bethany and rum do not mix.  I didn’t drink much last night but this morning I have a slight hangover headache.  #Fail!

Anyhow, back to my boyfriends.  They had three openings acts:  Cracker, Big Head Toad the Wet Sprocket Monsters (otherwise known as Big Head Todd and the Monsters but we had problems calling them the right name all night long), and Blues Traveler.  Remember Run Around?  It was a fun song from my high school days.  🙂

Not bad, but they are no Ingrid Michaelson (the opening act for the previous two BNL concerts we attended).  LOVE INGRID!

Starting Now is one of my favorite songs by Ingrid.  It helped me deal with some hard times in the past.  Actually a lot of Ingrid’s songs helped me.  That’s how I deal with things sometimes…blare music and sing at the top of my lungs.  🙂

But I digress (that was for you, Jo!).  After listening to the opening acts, partaking in adult libations, and making fun of super tan ladies people watching, our men came on.  Yay!  They started withAnother Postcard, which has never been my favorite song, but it did get the crowd up and moving.

They played a pretty decent set consisting of several chart toppers and a few lesser known songs.  They also played a new song off their next album.

One of my favorite things about BNL is Ed’s freestyling.  He always includes a song about the city he’s in.

Another favorite part of every BNL concert is when they play theBig Bang Theory theme song!  (I dropped the ball on this and started recording more than halfway through.)

Barenaked Ladies always put on a great concert and tonight was no exception.  We all had such a fun time!  I love the Ladies!

2 thoughts on “Barenaked

Leave a Reply

