Foodie Pen Pals (June 2012)

You want to know something cool? (Do people still use the word “cool” or am I showing my age?)  My little bloggy post about last month’s Foodie Pen Pal swap encouraged two other people to join this month’s swap!

If this is your first time hearing about it, the Foodie Pen Pal swap is a huge swap between tons of people.  It’s organized (quite efficiently) by Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean.  Basically, you send your name to her and she sets you up with a pen pal.  You send a box of food to your pen pal and receive one from a separate pen pal.

It’s a great way to connect with people from all over the country.  My last pen pal and I found out we have a great love for Hawaii and have chatted several times since last month!  Unfortunately, this month her pen pal burned her by not sending a box.  VERY UNCOOL BEHAVIOR.  Word to the wise…if you sign up to participate, then participate.

My pen pal was great however!  Her name is Beth and she (coincidentally enough) has a son named Jacob!  Beth has lost over 75 pounds in the last year, so she knows a thing or two about healthy eating.  She picked out some treats for me (and Jacob) that were not only delicious, but healthy!

The first thing that caught my eye was the Almond Berry Snackle Mouth granola clusters.  I love granola (and almonds and berries), so I popped these bad boys in my mouth and was not disappointed!  They were quite yummy!

The next thing I tried was the New Tree Superfruit chocolate.  I am a milk chocolate lover at heart, but have started eating darker chocolate because it’s better for me.  I usually choose Dove Dark Chocolate Promises or Hershey Special Dark bars, but they aren’t as high in the cocoa % as I have been wanting lately.  This 65% cocoa chocolate was just the ticket.  And you know what?  It wasn’t half bad!  I mean, it wasn’t milk chocolate, but isn’t that the point?

After that, I saw the Strawberry Pepper Jelly.  What the heck?  She included a little note telling me she got this at the local farmer’s market.  Apparently, she gets a sample when she goes to the market.  They serve the jelly with Ritz crackers and a little cream cheese.  She absolutely loves it, but is doing the Paleo diet, therefore she hasn’t bought any for herself.  I’m still on the fence with this one, but I haven’t tried it with crackers and cream cheese yet.  We shall see…  I wonder how it would taste with the chocolate almond Justin butter she included?  😛

She also included two bars for me to try:  a Pecan Pie Larabar, which I had had before, and a Almond and Coconut Kind bar, which I hadn’t.  I’m not a huge fan of Larabars, but that Kind bar was ohmygosh delicious!  I googled where to find them and was pleased to learn they were available at both grocery stores I shop in!  Definitely gonna have to pick some of those up.

Finally, Beth was so sweet to include a little something for baby Jacob.  Her little guy loved these spinach, collard greens, and kale puffs when he was learning to self feed, so she wanted my little one to try them.  I cheated and tried one and I thought they were pretty tasty!  I have been so blessed to have gotten ladies that include my boy in the fun!

If you want to participate, it’s quite simple.  Head on over to this post and sign up.  You will receive a pen pal on the 5th of July and will be responsible for sending a box of goodies around $15 to that person.  That’s all!  If you’re a blogger, you will be encouraged to blog about your goodies on the 30th of the month.  It’s really fun and it opens your palate to lots of things you might not ordinarily try (like the Kind bars for me).

Wanna play?

8 thoughts on “Foodie Pen Pals (June 2012)

  1. Oh I love reading about your swap buddies. Bethany, I love Jalapeno jelly so you may be discovering a new like. The cream cheese will “soften” the spicy. It MAY not be that “hot” to the taste. Remember my (and Grandma’s) motto: “Try everything ONE time!”

    • You should join next month! I think you and Wes would really enjoy it!

      Yep, I plan to try it. That’s my motto too, after all. I have some laughing cow cream cheese in the fridge, so I just need to get some crackers. 🙂

  2. I love how your foodies include a little something for Jacob! That is so thoughtful. 🙂

    You got another good box!

      • The other thing with the jelly you could try is over brie cheese in the pastry puff. I bet that would be great!

Leave a Reply

