Cardboard Crap

It’s that time.  The time every parent dreads and looks forward to.  Time for solids!  But I’m getting ahead of myself.  Let’s back up to Monday, when Jake went to his 6 month checkup, shall we?

I was looking forward to Jake’s appointment for quite some time for a couple reasons.  One, I didn’t know how much he weighed.  Yes, I would do the deal where I would get on the scale with Jake and then get back on the scale alone and subtract the numbers, but I like weighing him with the same scale (i.e. at the doctor’s office) so I know the amount is accurate.  I also had a couple questions regarding sleep and food.

When we got to the appointment, Jake was weighed, measured, and had his head circumference taken.  What’s the point of the head circumference anyhow?  Do they want to see if his brains are growing?  🙂

Jake is 17 pounds 9 ounces, he’s 26″ long (that’s over 2 feet, y’all!), and I can’t remember the exact number for head circumference, but it’s in the 50th percentile.  In fact, he’s in the 50th percentile for everything.  Well, sort of.  The doctor said he was in between 25-50th for height.  I told Jeff this and he said, “I hope he’s not short!”  I guess we’ll see, huh?  Not much we can do…

After the doctor did his exam, I asked him some questions about sleeping habits.  I asked if we should start weaning Jake off his nighttime bottle (sometimes he has 2) and he said it wasn’t necessary and Jake would let us know when he wanted less to eat at night.  Since the checkup, Jake has been doing wonderfully with his nighttime habits!

He typically falls asleep around 6p after daycare and then wakes around 11p for a bottle.  We have begun giving him a full bottle (9+ ounces) at this feeding and letting him eat as much as he wants.  We were just doing 7 ounces and he would finish it and cry for more.  Since we started filling it up, he’s been much happier.

Then he wakes up usually around 3 or 4a for another bottle.  After that, he will sleep until usually around 6a but today he woke up at 7a!  He’s still not sleeping through the night, but we think once he’s eating more solids, he’ll do better.  We’ll see…

Speaking of solids, we introduced them on Wednesday.  The plan was to give him rice cereal on Tuesday night, but by the time I got home at 5:45p, he was already asleep!  We opted for Wednesday morning instead.

When Jake woke up, we played with him for a little while to make sure he was alert and ready to receive food.  Jeff kept him occupied while I prepared a little cereal, then we put him in his bumbo and went to town.

His first bite wasn’t too bad, but every bite after that, he would make these faces as if to say, “Mother, what is this cardboard crap?”  He had Jeff and I in stitches!  He’s so sweet.  I love that little boy.

The second day we gave him cereal wasn’t much better.  In fact, it was pretty much exactly like the first.  Then today, he just wasn’t having any of it.  I offered it and he just looked at me and said, “Uh, no.  You ain’t foolin’ me today, lady!”  He tried to grab the spoon to fling the junk across the room! I think part of it had to do with the fact that he had just eaten a few hours prior and was probably still full and sleepy.

We are going to do like the doctor suggested and do the oatmeal this weekend, and then on Monday we will introduce a veggie!  I have sweet potato and avocado right now, but I’m hoping to make some more options to have for later in the month.  I received a Baby Bullet for Christmas and so far I love it!  I’m sure I’ll do a post about it in the future.  For now, I leave you with Jake’s first solid experience.  Have a great weekend, everyone!

5 thoughts on “Cardboard Crap

Leave a Reply

