Do you iQ?

So…originally I had planned to update you all on Jake’s six month doctor’s appointment as well as his introduction to solids.  Well…that didn’t go exactly as planned.  I came home tonight to find Jake already in bed.  At 5:45p.  Usually if he goes to sleep after daycare, he is out for the night.  He might wake up around 9 or so for a feeding, but he’s still typically very sleepy and I just don’t think it’s the right time to feed him solids for the first time!  So, please enjoy a post I had in reserve for just such an occasion:

__________________________________________________________

A long time ago, I wrote about one of my favorite apps for the iPhone, Grocery iQ.  It still continues to be one of the most used apps on my phone.  Recently I discovered a new “trick” I guess you could call it and, it may be simple, but it makes my life a lot easier.

Have you ever gone to the store with a list of ingredients only to sit there and think, “Now, why do I need six cups of spinach leaves?”  I do this all. the. time.  Then I opt not to get it (especially if I am halfway across the store when I notice I missed it) and get home, only to find it is the key ingredient in a dish I plan to make that night.  Fail.

I have never really figured out a good way to add a list of foods I’m making to the app.  Until today.  See, when you type in a special ingredient (i.e. one that’s not already in the grocery database) it defaults to the “Other” category. To take advantage of this category, I type in the name of the recipe I want to make and click “Add to List”.

Then I navigate to the “Other” category and my recipe name is listed below.

To further take advantage of this little trick, I click edit and copy and paste the web address of the recipe I’m making into the “Description” field of the recipe.

Now, when I’m at the store, I not only have a list of recipes I plan to make, but the web address in case I have questions (like how much spinach do I really need?).  Make sense?

It’s the little things in life that make me happy.

One thought on “Do you iQ?

  1. I will definitely be checking that out! I try new recipes out almost every week. So, that happens to me all the time.
    Good luck with solids! And my advice, keep trying with every vegetable and fruit! I don’t think I tried hard enough because it is frustrating. Mason would only eat sweet potatoes, squash and carrots. And he didn’t like any fruits! Crazy! And he is the pickiest eater now!!!!!!!!! It’s more frustrating!

Leave a Reply

