Jeff Turns 30!

Last Monday, Memorial Day, was Jeff’s 30th birthday! Jake was up at 6:30a as is his norm.  We made breakfast for Daddy consisting of french toast and our favorite Dorothy Lane bacon.  So delicious.  After, I asked him what he wanted to do today.  He said “work outside for a bit, find new shoes, and sign in to work (what?  on your birthday?).” So I took care of the little guy while he did his chores.  Throughout the day I prepared food for the dinner we were having with his family.

This included a new recipe for Lemonade Punch from Pinterest.  It was OK, but I think I’ve decided I don’t like punch very much.  I told my sister-in-law I would have much preferred regular lemonade to the punch.  I did make fun lemon ice cubes to go in it though!

I also made sauteed peppers and onions (so yum!) and marinated chicken for the fajitas I had planned.  Later in the day I put out all the toppings which included sour cream, DLM salsa, limes for the beer fajitas, guacamole, cheese, and my Corn and Black Bean Salsa.

It was such a hot weekend last weekend that I had picked up a little baby pool at work.  I thought it would be fun to have something little that Jake could splash around in for this summer.  I grabbed some Little Swimmers too.  I just couldn’t wait to get the pool blown up and filled.  I took advantage of one of his naps to accomplish this task.  It was so hot out that the water was nice and warm within a few hours.

Jeff and I took Jake outside to dip his feet in the pool.  We didn’t want to go “swimming” yet because we had planned to do that at the party and I didn’t want his trunks to be wet for later that evening.  Of course 15 minutes before everyone was due over, the heavens opened and rain came pouring down (while I was outside cooking the chicken, mind you.  Thank goodness for our Grillzebo!).

(source)

That didn’t stop my niece from going for a quick dip.  Jeff sat by in his chair to “supervise”.

After dinner, swimming, and presents, we indulged in a little Cold Stone ice cream cake.  It was soooo good.  My mother-in-law was kind enough to pick up the cake for me as I had not planned well and forgot Cold Stone would be closed on Memorial Day (which was the day I had planned on getting it).  Thanks, T!  We decided on the Chocolate Chipper.  That chocolate ganache on top is to die for!

I told Jeff that, gasp, I may actually like the Cold Stone cake better than the DQ cakes I have loved for years!  Maybe…  I’m still not a fan of the cake in the Cold Stone cake, but the ice cream and the ganache is delightful!

I think Jeff’s birthday was a success and even though we didn’t do something big and outlandish like he wanted, he still had a good time.

And since I haven’t posted a video on here in a while, he’s a short pic of Jake and Jeff playing I took earlier this week.

One thought on “Jeff Turns 30!

Leave a Reply

