Skin Tone Adjustment (Photoshop Elements)

As you can tell from my photos, I am not extremely good at photography…yet.  I am still lacking in photo composition and sometimes have a hard time capturing the moment like some bloggers.  I do believe I am pretty good at editing my pictures.  I’m not an expert, but I think I understand Photoshop enough to get my pictures to look the way I want.

Photoshop (and the condensed version, Photoshop Elements or PSE for short) is a hard program to learn, but with time (and lots of YouTube video watching) I have learned the basics of photo editing.  I can even make decent scrapbook pages!

Jake’s book is still being created however…

Oddly enough, I just discovered one of my absolute favorite features of PSE: Adjustments for Skin Tone!  It can take a photo that looks like this

and turn it into this!

Notice how much warmer Jake’s skin looks?  His shirt is more vibrant and truer to life as well.  It is so simple too.  In PSE, you go to Enhance>Adjust Color>Adjust Color for Skin Tone…

Then, when the dropper appears on the screen, you click on the subject’s skin and the photo magically changes color!  If you don’t like the first attempt, click Reset and try a different area of skin.  Sometimes PSE doesn’t get it right, but more often than not it does.

It’s seriously that easy.  I can’t believe I never knew this trick before!

2 thoughts on “Skin Tone Adjustment (Photoshop Elements)

  1. I always forget You Tube! I think I will spend some time today and learn how to do a collage. I think my original creation has merit; I just want it to be perfect. 🙂 Love you. Nice job, btw, on the scrapbook page.

    • I love YouTube! It’s my go to source when I need a visual on how to do things. I even watched how to unclog my drain today! Thanks about the scrapbook page. 🙂

Leave a Reply

