The Dates Our Lives Were Forever Changed

I’m sentimental.  I’m nostalgic.  Heck, I’m a mom.  So when I saw this picture on pinterest, I knew I had to recreate it.

Basically, you pick any dates that are important to you and your family and fill them in first in numerical form and then in word form.  For us, I picked my birthday, Jeff’s birthday, our engagement, our anniversary, and Jake’s birthday.

If I had it to do over again, I might have changed our engagement to the day we met.  In fact, I might redo it.  I created this a few weeks ago and was just waiting for Walgreens to have another free 8×10 day.  Luckily, Mother’s Day provided that opportunity!

I’m know Photoshop relatively well, so it took no time to put this together.  The hardest thing for me was finding a font I liked for the dates!  I ended up using McGarey for the dates and Snell Roundhand for the words.  I still like the original fonts better, but I like mine too.

Now all I have to do is frame and hang it!

12 thoughts on “The Dates Our Lives Were Forever Changed

  1. I’ve also pinned that picture! I’m waiting until baby #2 is born to recreate it. Yours turned out great! And I agree. Picking fonts is hard!

    • That’s a great idea, Heather! As a twist of fate, I spilled water on this print today. I’ll be reordering, but with our dating anniversary instead. 🙂

  2. I’ve actually done this a few times now, house warmings, engagement gifts, wedding presents and baby showers are all wonderful occasions to gift this. I’ve done a couple of versions as well. For example I just made one for friends of mine who bought their first home. I re-created the dates simiilar to yours (using Tempus Sans ITC font); but instead of re-writing the dates I simply typed “the spark” “the kiss” “the move” and “the house” under each date. In the past I’ve also done “him” “her” “us” and “ours” (his birthday, her birthday, wedding date and babies birth day)
    Just a little variation on this great idea!

  3. Pingback: Life-Changing Dates | Ebb and Flow

Leave a Reply

