Healthy Eating

Back in 2009 when I decided I had had enough of my weight and it was time to do something about it, I knew I had to change two things: my eating and my exercising. This is a no brainer for getting fit. Here are some of the things I incorporated into my diet:

Oatmeal: I would typically have this for breakfast every day. I liked adding a scoop of peanut butter to it as well as a banana or some dried cherries. Slivered almonds were great if I wanted a little extra crunch too.

String Cheese and Roasted Almonds: This was one of my go to snacks. Lots of protein and just enough fat to get me to the next meal a few hours away.

Carrots and Cream Cheese: I know, it sounds kind of odd, but the Philadelphia Low Fat Garden Veggie cream cheese is similar to really thick ranch dressing. Try it. I promise you’ll like it.

Chobani yogurt: I have always loved yogurt, but I love Chobani even more because of the added protein. Protein=sustained energy and who doesn’t want that??

Apples with Low Fat Caramel Dip: I have a MAJOR sweet tooth and almost always have to end my lunches and dinners with a little treat. I started eating apples with caramel dip as a way to get in a healthy treat without blowing my diet.

Hard boiled eggs: Again, this is a great source of protein. I actually don’t like the yolk, so I would bring a couple eggs and just eat the whites with a pinch of salt. It makes for a yummy, quick breakfast if you are able to toast a couple sliced of bread and add a slice of cheese to the mix. Yummy egg sammy!

Canned vegetable based soups: I ate a bunch of Progresso soup. At first I would eat all the varieties including the ones made with meat. Then I saw a special with Jamie Oliver that talked about the pink slime. Apparently this is what they use in canned soups. So long, meaty soups! It’s all veggies all the time for this girl.

Ham sandwiches: This was pretty much my staple for lunch. I almost always had a ham sandwich, light chips, and a yogurt. It was filling and tasty. I more often that not end up bringing this to work still to this day!

Frozen Meals: OK, so Lean Cuisines are probably not the best thing you can have (TONS OF SODIUM), but when I am in a hurry to get to work, I don’t always have time to make a sandwich or put a salad together. This is when I grab a frozen meal. I mean, hey, it’s either this or hitting the drive thru. You tell me which is better…

Weight Watchers Frozen Candy Bars: This is Weight Watchers’ version of a frozen Snickers ice cream bar. Oh so tasty and extremely satisfying. I loved when I had enough calories at the end of the day to enjoy on of these babies!

These were my go to foods when I was getting my eating back under control. Now that I’m having to do it again, however, I find myself still burnt out on many of these items.

So, dear friends, I need some help. What healthy foods or snacks do you keep on hand to maintain your healthy eating? I’m hoping to get some new ideas so I can keep the momentum of healthy eating going!

8 thoughts on “Healthy Eating

  1. Hummus (easy to make if you have a food processor) with carrot sticks, smoothies with frozen fruit and yogurt, trail mix, apples with natural peanut butter. Those are my go-to healthy snacks!

    • I am not a fan of hummus (I think it’s the tahini). My brother, who is a chef, suggested I try babaganoush, though it has tahini in it too so I’m not sure I would like that either! I wish I liked hummus as it’s so healthy. I have a ton of fruit in my freezer though. I need to remember that and start making smoothies!

  2. Celery with peanut butter, Fiber One 90 calorie bars, 100 calorie popcorn. I’m new to this whole diet thing:) I just joined Weight Watchers. And yes, their ice cream is really good!

    • It was my saving grace last time I got back into eating healthy. I love my sweets! Dove dark chocolate promises are yummy too!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. I just thought of another snack, laughing cow cheese. I will eat that with reduced fat triscuits or put it on celery. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

