My 11 Favorite Infant Items

My little Jacob guy is going to be 3 months old later this week.  That has me thinking back to when he was just a little bean of a thing.  When we first brought him home from the hospital, Jeff and I were terrified of him!  We didn’t know what to do with him, where to put him, how to dress him, how to entertain him, or anything like that!  Here are 10 things that helped save the day when caring for him:

My Little Snug-a-bunny Cradle & Swing – When Jake was really little he didn’t care too much for this, but as he got older, he took more of a liking to it.  Now, when we need to lull him to sleep, he gets a pacifier and goes in the swing.

My Little Snug-a-bunny Bouncy Seat – Again when Jake was super young he didn’t like this, but after he went to daycare and spent a good amount of his time hanging out in one, we were able to put him in it while we did various things around the house.

Munchkin Wipe Warmer – It’s not really a necessity to have this wipe warmer, but it sure is nice to be able to wipe my little one’s bottom with a warm cloth instead of an ice cold one in the middle of the night!

The First Years Bottle Warmer – For the first six weeks, this gift sat in the nursery closet untouched.  I had read you couldn’t use the warmer with drop ins.  For some reason it didn’t occur to me to try a different type of bottle with the warmer!  I picked up some Tommy Tippee bottles that seemed to be as close to the shape of my breast as I could get and started using the warmer.  It definitely makes warming a bottle in the middle of the night easier!  You may have to play around with the water level a little though.  🙂  Also, I will admit we never use the cooler portion of this product as we walk right by the refrigerator on our way to the nursery.  If we didn’t, however, I would definitely like that feature.

Boppy/Brest Friend – I have no idea how people feed their baby so easily without a little support for baby’s head.  I am not one of those people.  I just can’t maneuver my little guy the right way.  It’s no matter…I just make sure to have one of these pillows around at all times!

Boppy Newborn Lounger – I saw this on Emily’s blog and added it to my registry at the last minute.  We got it as a gift and Jacob ended up spending about 75% of the first six weeks of his life in it!  He loved it and we loved being able to keep an eye on him while he slept soundly.

Moby Wrap – Again, this was something Jake fought at first.  Eventually, after watching a YouTube video on how to tie it, we got things under control and figured everything out.  Now, he goes in it with no problems.  In fact, he sat in it for a 1.5 hour walk the other day during my Meetup event!

Medela Hands Free Bra – If you are pumping and have to go back to work, seriously consider investing in this little beauty.  Even if you’re not going back to work, you may want to buy one.  I am able to pump at work and get paperwork done, or use it at home and play Zelda!  It’s really a nice little product.

Graco Sweet Slumber Sound Machine – Any mom will tell you newborns don’t like to sleep in silence.  We picked this sound machine up and immediately loved it.  It has tons of different sounds, plus the ability to plug in an iPod to use your own music!

Bath Luve – The first time we gave Jake a bath, he CRIED his head off.  He was freezing and, no matter how I tried to keep him covered, I kept having to remove the towel to wash him.  We got this as a gift for Christmas and ever since Jake has loved bath time!  You just soak the towel in the warm water and lay it over your little one.  Makes for a much nicer bath!

Camera – OK, so this isn’t an infant item, but it is definitely important nonetheless!  You don’t have to get anything fancy, but you’ll definitely want to keep a camera close by.  You never know what cute thing your baby will do!

Bonus item:  my mom!  No, you can’t buy this gift on amazon!  She is one of a kind.  She absolutely saved my life when she came to visit.  She planned her visit to coincide with Jeff going back to work, so I always had a little help after Jake was born.  She was wonderful and I can’t wait for her to come back to visit!  Love you, Mama!

7 thoughts on “My 11 Favorite Infant Items

  1. Okay, I need the sound machine. I gave my little one the air filter from my bedroom because it made the right amount of white noise and I kinda want it back!!!

  2. My favorite item was my video camera. Mason is almost 3 1/2 and I still use it everyday!!!!
    But I also loved my boppy , swing, bouncer and sound machine (still use it too)!

    • Definitely love my video camera too. I actually have a YouTube channel full of jake videos!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Pingback: Nursing Notes, Volume 2 | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

