Slow Cooker Chicken & Dumplings

OK, so I’m a little over a week into my Pinterest challenge that was supposed to last for the entire month of March.  Well…I’ve cooked 4 out of the 5 recipes I picked already!  I made all the main dishes and by far my favorite of the four was the slow cooker chicken and dumplings.  Turns out two of my loved ones had already made the recipe!  Here’s what they said:

Mom:  You may not be able to wait until it’s finished slow cooking in the crock pot.  It smells so delicious.  I cooked my dumplings a little longer to make sure they were done all the way through.

Carolyn:  I thought it was quick and easy!  I made it on the stove top so it was ready faster.  I added frozen peas and carrots and it turned out great.  Very satisfying and tasty!

After I got that feedback, I knew I had to try it.  I made it for dinner on Friday night and prayed Jeff would like it.  I didn’t make anything else after all.  The verdict?  He cleaned his bowl!  I wondered if it would be filling enough for him since we usually have a relatively large meal for dinner, but it seemed just right.  A bowl of soup + a bowl of ice cream is the perfect amount I guess!

Slow Cooker Chicken & Dumplings
(adapted from polishthestars.com)

1 onion, diced
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast
salt & pepper and any other seasonings you’d like
2 tbsp butter, diced
2 cans 98% fat free cream of chicken soup
1 14 oz can chicken broth
1 container Grands Homestyle biscuits*, each cut into 9 pieces

Line your crock pot with a Reynolds Slow Cooker Liner (best invention ever!).  Place your diced onion in the bottom of the slow cooker.  Add your chicken to the pot and sprinkle with whatever seasonings you’d like.  I used my go to seasoning:  Dorothy Lane Market grill rub.  I seriously use it for EVERYTHING!  Over the chicken, add your butter, the two cans of cream of chicken soup, and the chicken broth.  Cook on high for 4-6 hours or on low for 8 hours.

After your soup is cooked, remove the chicken and add your biscuits.  Stir the biscuits so that they are all coated with the soup.  Cook on high for 1 hour or until the biscuits are cooked through.  Meanwhile, shred or chop your chicken into small bits.  After the biscuits are cooked, add the chicken back to the soup and stir to combine.  Serve piping hot!

*The original recipe called for just 4 of the 8 biscuits in the can, but I love dumplings so I added all 8.  My nutritional information is based on 8 biscuits.

6 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Chicken & Dumplings

  1. Can you provide some details on how to cook on the stove top??? I would like to try it this way possibly because I don’t plan ahead enough, but I’m not sure how to do it.

  2. Pingback: Main Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

