10 Things to Remember

Jacob is an interesting character.  He has so many traits I want to remember, I thought I’d share them with all of you!  Here are the top 10 things he does that make him unique…or a baby…whichever:

1.  Has “puppy dreams”.  Sometimes while Jacob is sleeping, he makes little noises like you would hear a puppy make.  You know, whimpers and the like.  Very cute!

2.  Has erratic nursing patterns.  This boy is so crazy!  Sometimes he does a great job nursing.  He latches on and nurses on each side for 15-20 minutes each (for a grand total of 30-40 minutes).  He’ll then sleep for 2-3 hours like a champ.  Other times he nurses for 5 or 10 minutes, falls asleep, and then wakes up again about an hour later screaming like he’s starving.  He then repeats the cycle.  I finally have to give in and give him a bottle of typically a breast milk/formula mix.  Weirdo!

3.  Makes the “wow, you’re crazy” face.  I like to sit with Jake facing me and make lots of funny sounds and noises.  He then looks at me with his eyes wide as if to say, “Dude, you’re crazy!”  I absolutely love it!

4.  Wants to escape.  Usually after about ten minutes of making said noises, he starts pushing against me with his feet.  It makes me think he’s trying to get away.  Unfortunately for him, he’s stuck with me!

5.  Loves sleeping on people.  If Jacob could talk and you gave him a choice of places to sleep, he would always, 100% of the time pick a person’s chest.  I can’t complain though.  When I’m holding him and look down to see that cute little face with his mouth open, I don’t want to be anywhere else in the world.

6.  Fights sleep 75% of the time.  I was reading the Babywise book and they suggest feeding the baby, having a bit of playtime, and then putting the baby to bed.  You then repeat this cycle a few hours later.  I think it’s a great idea in theory…until Jake decides he wants to skip his nap.  It’s not that he’s not tired.  He’s usually exhausted!  He just has a hard time settling himself down.  Hopefully this changes soon!

**Update:  I originally wrote this a few days ago.  Since then, the nice women at the daycare informed me that Jake has no trouble going to sleep for them.  I asked them what they did to encourage that behavior and they told me they swaddle him and he goes straight to sleep.  Tonight, after Jake had been awake about 1.5 hours after feeding, I knew he needed to go to sleep, so I tried the swaddle/pacifier trick.  He was asleep within 5 minutes.  Holy lord!  Who is this baby and what have they done with Jake?

7.  Has a love/hate relationship with his pacifier.  Jake can’t decide if he likes the pacifier or not.  Sometimes he’ll be whimpering and he’ll want the pacifier.  Other times he’ll be making the exact same noises and we try to give him a pacifier only to have him immediately spit it out.  He’s so funny!  When he doesn’t want the pacifier and you try to give it to him, he makes the funniest face…like you’re trying to force feed him brussels sprouts!  It’s this “What the heck are you trying to give me, Mother?” face.  Love him!

8.  Loves the bath tub.  For the first few weeks before his umbilical cord fell off, we had to give him sponge baths.  He hated them.  Even though we would put a space heater in the small bathroom and turn it on full blast before the bath, he would still shiver and shake like he was naked in the middle of a blizzard.  When this kid is cold, he CRIES!  Needless to say, we avoided giving him baths for a while.  Then, after he lost his umbilical cord, we were finally able to bath him in the baby bath.  He loved it!  He was able to be warm and get cleaned at the same time!  He must take after his Mama.  Ever since then, he has loved his time in the bath.  I hope it continues!  I can’t wait to play with him and all his toys!

9.  Prefers to be naked.  A few weeks ago in the early morning hours, I was changing his diaper and noticed some redness on his bottom as well as around his legs where the diaper went.  I didn’t know if we had the diaper on too tight or what, but I decided to let him air out a little.  I put some towels down as well as a waterproof mat and let him have some naked time.  He loved it!  Not only was he able to pee on Mom (twice) but he was able to get some air on his poor, sensitive skin.  Ever since then he has shown preference whenever we take all his clothes off.  I can just see him spending the summer in just a diaper or less!

10.  Loves lights.  We have ceiling fans with lights all over our house.  Any time we have the ceiling fan lights on and we walk under them holding Jake, he becomes mesmerized with them.  He will sit and stare at them for as long as we let him.  Oddly enough, however, when we put him in a chair or bouncy seat within eyesight of the lights, he doesn’t look at them as much.  Maybe it’s because he is further away from them?  I don’t know.  Either way, it’s kind of funny to watch.

These are just a handful of things that Jake does right now that we have been noticing.  The interesting thing about babies though is how they change so frequently.  Take this example for instance:  Jake is six weeks old today and I have tried several times to get him to sleep in his pack n play during naps.  It seemed like it would be easier to hear when he woke up instead of using the monitor.  Tonight, after speaking with the ladies at the day care, I decided to try it one more time.  He was relatively wide awake when I swaddled him, gave him a pacifier, and laid him on his back in the pack n play.  As I said above, he was out in 5 minutes.  This was a huge achievement for us.  A milestone really.  Not only did he fall asleep in his pack n play, he was able to do it swaddled AND on his own!  (He has not been the best at self soothing while falling asleep.)  He has been sleeping for about 2.5 hours and will probably be waking soon for his last feeding before bed.

Every day, I find myself loving Jake even more than I did the day before!  I love seeing all the different changes he’s making and I love watching him discover things.  I never know what the next day will bring, but I’m excited for it!

5 thoughts on “10 Things to Remember

  1. Just discovered your blog and looks like my little guy was born the same day as yours 🙂 it sounds like they share a lot of sweet little “unique” baby traits too. Love those little whimpers and naps on my chest!

    • Hi! How great to find someone else who shares Jake’s birthday. Have you noticed any other traits that you absolutely adore?

  2. Pingback: 15 New Things to Remember | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

