Week 39

How Far Along:  39 weeks…plus a few days.  Can anyone believe I will be 40 weeks on Friday? (If I last that long…)

Size of Baby:  “Your baby’s waiting to greet the world! He continues to build a layer of fat to help control his body temperature after birth, but it’s likely he already measures about 20 inches and weighs a bit over 7 pounds, a mini watermelon. (Boys tend to be slightly heavier than girls.) The outer layers of his skin are sloughing off as new skin forms underneath.”  -babycenter.com

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  About 40 pounds…unfortunately.  Oddly enough, Jeff and I both agree I don’t seem to be getting any bigger.  I have stayed about the same size for the past couple weeks.  Pretty cool, I’ll say.

Maternity Clothes:  Still trucking along in my maternity clothes.  Luckily I’m hoping to only be in them for a little while longer.  Well, to be honest, I’m planning on staying in yoga pants and tshirts for a few weeks after baby comes, but you know what I mean.

Gender:  A little baby boy!

Movement:  He’s been slowing down more and more lately.  He still makes his presence known, but I think he’s getting a little crowded in there!  I think he’s flipped sides again.  He was hanging out on my left side for a while, then flipped to my right side.  Now I feel him more on the left again, but I could be very wrong.  I just hope he’s still head down!

Food Cravings:  Nope, still nothing.  Well, maybe Coke Zero?  We were out of it for a long time at home and I kept refusing to buy it because it wasn’t on sale at work.  It finally went on sale and I stocked up.  Now I have to really focus on drinking water instead of soda, but I’m doing it.  I find using a big water bottle helps a lot.  I like drinking out of straws!

What I Miss:  Actually….not much!  I know people are expecting me to say how miserable I am and how I am so ready to be done with pregnancy, but for the most part I’m really OK.  Yes, it is getting harder and harder to keep my energy up at work and it’s sometimes a struggle to get in and out of the car, but really I’m not doing too bad!  Things could be worse!

Sleep:  For the most part, I’m still a champion sleeper.  I am waking up more and more often to use the bathroom and it’s still a feat to turn over in the middle of the night, but I can’t really complain.  I’ve heard horror stories about how women get insomnia towards the end and have a hard time sleeping in general, but I don’t have that problem.  Maybe it’s because I am on my feet for 8-10 hours a day for work or because I try to keep busy at home when I have days off so by the time I actually do get to bed I’m exhausted.  Maybe I’m just lucky.  I have no idea, but this girl’s not complaining!

Symptoms:  Hmm…let’s see.  Sore, tired feet.  Backaches occasionally.  Snoring (which I hate because it sometimes keeps Jeff awake and it makes my throat hurt in the mornings).  Increased urination.  Pelvic pain.  I think that’s it, but if I’m missing anything it’s so minor I can’t remember what it is!

Best Moment This Week:  Getting the update at my doctor’s appointment last Wednesday.  She let me know I was 1 cm dilated and 50% effaced.  She thinks I will deliver sometime around my actual due date (December 9th) but wouldn’t be surprised or upset if I went a little longer.  I would prefer to deliver on time instead of later, both because of the timing at work and the timing on the calendar.  The further away from Christmas I deliver the better, though honestly it doesn’t really matter either way.

What I Am Looking Forward To:  Well…meeting the little guy!  And sharing his name with everyone.  I have had so many people ask me what we are naming him and ask me why we aren’t sharing the name in the last few weeks!  Don’t worry, people.  You’ll know soon enough!

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  I bought a few things for Peanut for Christmas presents at Old Navy yesterday, but other than that I think we have everything we need for now.  I’m sure once he comes, we will have to stock up on diapers and such, but we are OK on supplies for now.

That’s pretty much it for this week!  I don’t know how many more posts I’ll be making about pregnancy, but I can guarantee you I’ll be posting cute baby pictures after the little guy is born.  Until then…  🙂

PS…My face is definitely getting that “pregnancy” wideness to it and I don’t like it!  Ick.

6 thoughts on “Week 39

  1. So close!! Such an exciting time. But also every little twitch and ache makes you wonder “is this it??” . You are keeping such a great attitude! So soon and your little guy will be in your arms and you won’t know how he fit inside you! 🙂

    • I agree! I went to the doctor today and she did what I’m referring to as a “membrane sweep” so now I’m cramping and feeling contractions (I think…). Maybe it’ll be time soon!

Leave a Reply

