Week 38

How Far Along:  38 weeks

Size of Baby:  “Your baby has really plumped up. She weighs about 6.8 pounds and she’s over 19 1/2 inches long (like a leek). She has a firm grasp, which you’ll soon be able to test when you hold her hand for the first time! Her organs have matured and are ready for life outside the womb.”  -babycenter.com

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  Sadly, I finally weighed myself and I’m up about 40 pounds.  Too many sweets!  And it doesn’t help that Chick Fil A is right next door to my work.  Looks like I’m going to have a challenge on my hands after I have this baby, but I’m up to it!  Hello, Weight Watchers!  (No more maintenance weeks, Kristy!  😛 )

Maternity Clothes:  Today I am wearing my standard maternity jeans (that I finally repaired) and a regular tank top and sweater.  I have found tanks are very comfortable and I have several stretchy sweaters that accommodate my ever growing belly!  But other than that, I gravitate towards my maternity clothes.  I’m just too big for anything else!

Gender:  A boy!

Movement:  Oh the movement!  I used to think all his flips and flops were cute.  Now, they are still cute, but also huge!  He likes to burrow up under my ribcage on my left side a lot, so I find myself stretching out reaaaaaaal long when he does this.  I still love feeling him move because that means he’s happy and healthy, but I’m not going to be sad when I can watch him stretch instead of just feeling him!

Food Cravings:  Starbucks Salted Caramel Hot Chocolates.  My doctor not-so-subtly told me I needed to watch my carb and sugar intake because the boy was growing in leaps and bounds, so I haven’t had a Starbucks drink since last Tuesday.  Yes, I know that’s only one week, but I used to get one every few days!  It’s definitely healthier to not get one, but that doesn’t make me miss it much less.  I would guess 10 of the 40 pounds I’ve put on can be broken down into Starbucks syrups and toppings!

(Please excuse the nasty stretch marks.  I was going to Photoshop them out, but then I wouldn’t be being 100% authentic, would I?  Badges of motherhood…)

What I Miss:  Feeling like myself.  I think I’ve said this for the past few weeks, but I am so ready to feel normal again.  You know, being able to sleep on my stomach, tie my shoes without seeing stars, that sort of thing…

Sleep:  For the most part I’m sleeping really well still.  The only thing that’s changed has happened in the past few days.  I wake up around 1am with a pain in my lower back on my right side.  I’m wondering if this is how I’m sleeping or if it’s a back labor contraction.  I am inclined to think it’s the first answer, but who knows.

Symptoms:  As with last week, my symptoms are pretty consistent with pregnancy…sore feet, some back pain, frequent urination, breathlessness, heartburn, etc.  I worked Thanksgiving and Black Friday last week and by the time I got home on Friday afternoon I was so tired I slept off and on from 5p to about 6:30a.  I was beat!  I’m trying to make it through work until I go into labor, but each day it gets a little more challenging!

Best Moment This Week:  Getting the nursery cleaned up and buying the last items needed for our little man!  I have been in the habit of just putting everything we have purchased or received in the nursery in no particular spot.  Today, I finally organized everything and put things away in the closet.  I will probably end up moving things after he’s born, but for now I can live with the placement of everything.

What I Am Looking Forward To:  Seeing my doctor on Wednesday and getting an update on my progress.  Well, that and meeting Mr. Peanut for the first time.  I’m still nervous as hell for labor and I’m pretty sure that’s not going to change, but I’ll handle it one moment at a time.  Jeff is really good in calming me down and I just need to focus on not stressing as much.  It’s so hard because I not only worry about the labor, but about being prepared for everything both in the hospital and after.  I think I’ve done everything I can at this point and we are just waiting for those telltale signs of labor to begin.

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  OK, so you guys are going to laugh, but remember how last week I said I found the shelf I was looking for at Home Depot?  Well…when Jeff went to put it up, I decided I didn’t like it!  How fully was that?  Instead, we went to Michael’s and picked up some letters to hang on the wall.  I’m trying to decide if I want to leave them white, paint them, or cover them in decorative paper.  For now, I think I’ll leave them white, but I have a feeling they will change in time.  I’m thinking I may get some jungle themed stickers to put on the letters if I can find the kind I’m imagining.

So, there’s week 38!  Only a few weeks to go.  All the grandparents are getting so excited to meet the little guy, not to mention lots of coworkers and friends.  And of course Jeff and I are over the moon excited and anxious.  Not too much longer now!

PS…don’t forget to check out my Healthy Hydration post and enter to win my Crystal Light giveaway!  Keep yourself hydrated for all that holiday baking that’s sure to start soon!

2 thoughts on “Week 38

  1. “She has a firm grasp, which you’ll soon be able to test when you hold her hand for the first time!” Boy, this brought a tear to my eye. I am so anxious to hold my grandson for the first time. Have camera ready. Love you three.

    • I just finished charging the last of my batteries for the camera that is now tucked securely in the hospital bag. I’m sure we are going to take loads of pictures. I have already instructed Jeff to do such things. 🙂

      Love you too!

Leave a Reply

