Week 37

Unfortunately no pictures this week…not enough time! But I assure you I look pretty much the same as last week!

How Far Along: 37 weeks (well, I guess to be more accurate, I’m 37.5 weeks now)

Size of Baby: “Your baby weighs 6 1/3 pounds and measures a bit over 19 inches, head to heel.” -babycenter.com. I can disagree with this though. I know for a fact that my baby is at least 6.5 pounds. More on that later.

Total Weight Gain/Loss: I haven’t weighed myself in a while, so I really don’t know. At least 35 pounds gained so far though!

Maternity Clothes: I am obviously still in maternity clothes as it would be a pretty odd thing for me to lose weight at this point. I have started wearing my yoga pants again, which I had stopped for a while because they didn’t feel as comfortable. Oddly enough my bigger PJ pants don’t feel quite as right as my yoga pants do! Also, I am trying my darnedest not to buy any more maternity pants. I have two pairs of khakis I wear to work, a pair of black pants (that I really never wear) and a pair of jeans. The jeans need a little maintenance on the seaming of the full panel top, but other than that everything still fits and is manageable. I think I can eek out another three weeks in them…unless I eat too much Thanksgiving dinner!

Gender: Again, I can guarantee that he is a boy!

Movement: He isn’t as active as he used to be, but that’s normal since he is running out of room in there! I haven’t noticed any “lightening” (where the baby drops, thus relieving pressure on the lungs, but putting more pressure on the lower areas) yet, but I still have some pressure in the lower parts of my body sometimes. According to the OB, this is all normal. I go back to her today in a few hours, so I’m anxious to see if anything has changed since the last visit.

Food Cravings: Nope. None. In fact, I’m having a hard time thinking of anything that sounds good. Apparently this is normal too. With the baby being so big and taking up so much space, there isn’t as much room in there for my stomach. Sitting here this morning, I honestly can’t think of anything that sounds good. It’s funny I feel this way as Thanksgiving is right around the corner, though to be honest Thanksgiving was never my favorite meal…

What I Miss: Not being in pain every time I roll over in the middle of the night. The baby is in the correct position to be born, meaning his head is down in my pelvis. Every time I turn over, try to get up, etc, I have a painful sensation. It goes away quickly, but I dread moving because I know I’ll feel it. Only a few more weeks and then I’ll start to get back to normal!

Sleep: Aside from the pain I feel, and the bathroom breaks, I’m sleeping pretty well. I’m still snoring according to Jeff, but my friend Abby said that would hopefully go away a few weeks after birth. I told Jeff I hoped it did and he said, “Why? You aren’t awake to hear it!” Very good point, Jeffrey! 😛

I’m not finding myself more or less tired for the most part, though last night I fell asleep around 8:30p and woke up around 5:45a. I have since spent the morning laying on the couch watching TV. I really wish you could store up sleep hours for when my little bundle comes, but you can’t, so I’m just enjoying the quiet and laziness right now.

Symptoms: Nothing out of the ordinary…pain when moving, snoring, slight itching (though thank goodness that went away eventually!), more frequent urination. My back actually feels pretty good most of the time and I really can’t complain too much about anything else. I have some pain in my feet from carrying around extra weight on my already flat feet, but that’s to be expected I think. All in all, I’d say I’m pretty lucky!

I don’t really know whether to classify this as a symptom or what, but I’m starting to feel what I’ll lovingly call the “mommy panic”. I have witnessed a couple women go into mommy panic mode towards the end of their pregnancy, where they are nervous if they really can handle being a parent and feeling responsible for their child. Some women are so excited to meet their baby that that’s all they think about. Some women are excited, but scared out of their minds at the same time. I fall into the second category. Don’t get me wrong…I’m looking forward to meeting my little guy, but sometimes it all feels like it’s not really happening to me. I see the pack and play sitting in the corner of my living room, the crib and dresser in the nursery, and the whale of a tub in the guest bath, but right now it’s all just stuff. Items that have migrated from the baby store to my house. They have no real significance and won’t until they are filled with a baby.

Now everyone tells me the minute I see my child, the world changes. You go from caring primarily about yourself and your spouse to not in a nanosecond. Everything revolves around this little human you have felt growing and kicking you for the last several months. I can’t wait for that to happen to me, because if we are being completely honest (and I know I can be with you guys), right now I’m just terrified and as nervous as I possibly could be. I’m sure it will go away with time (and with birth), but until then I will keep having mini panic attacks. Don’t worry, though. They only last a few minutes and then they pass. Usually after I look at the little baby socks in the dresser. As Chandler says, “How can anything this small be scary?”

Best Moment This Week: Getting to see my little guy again! I went to the doctor last Tuesday and after she measured me, she said there was a lot of fluid around the baby and couldn’t really tell how big he was. She decided she wanted another ultrasound performed, so I went out to the desk to schedule it. Turns out, the ultrasound tech had had a cancellation right then and I was able to squeeze in! I got to see the little guy unexpectedly and it was really a nice surprise. I couldn’t see as much as during the 20 week ultrasound though because he’s so scrunched up in there! The tech did confirm he was a boy…quite clearly…and that he is approximately 6.5 pounds! She said it was too hard to tell how long he was since there’s not a good way to measure him right now, but he seems healthy! That’s all that matters!

Something else small and insignificant…I found the shelf I wanted for the nursery! We found it at Home Depot of all places! I swear I looked there a few months back when I was trying to find decorations, but I guess either I didn’t or I skipped over that aisle.

We also put our Christmas tree up this past weekend. I know it’s a little early, but I had the time off and didn’t know how good I’d be feeling in the coming weeks, so I went ahead and did it. I’m nearly done decorating and will be happy when it’s finished. One less thing to think about!

Oh yeah, and finally filling out and mailing the thank you notes! That’s a BIG task I got to cross off my list this week.

What I Am Looking Forward To: I’ve been talking about this for a few weeks, but I will be happy when my hospital bag is completely packed. I have been gathering things for a while now and think I’m finally ready to pack the bag. I bought some items from Walmart.com and they arrived, but are way too big, so I am going to have to order the smaller size. The only bad part is how long shipping will take. I really would like to go full term with this baby, not because I want to remain pregnant, but because I want to have enough time to get everything completed that needs to be completed! My mom, in addition to others, have told me the baby won’t care if the nursery is done or if the house is immaculate, but after I get home from the hospital I won’t be able to do a lot of that stuff for a while. I’m sure everything will find a way to work out, but until then I will probably keep stressing about it. Hey, it’s what I do!

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made: Baby shower gifts keep trickling in and those are always fun to get! I think the biggest purchase I made this week was the last few things off the registry like a nursing cover, lanolin, and a nursing bra. The last thing I think I have left to purchase is a car seat cover, which they didn’t have in stock at BRU. I’ll probably order it on amazon.com though since it’s cheaper and I don’t have to go to the store that way!

So as you can see this week was relatively calm and unexciting, which is just fine by me. My doctor had said last week I was no where near delivering, which helps me complete my tasks without worrying that I’m going to be stranded in the mall parking lot, cell phone clutched in one hand, gritting my teeth through contractions, yelling at Jeff to come pick me up. This of course could happen, but I’m trying not to think about it too much.

To be extremely honest, I am still terrified of going into labor and giving birth. I think most of it is the unknown of how I will handle the situation and what it will feel like. People call tell me over and over again what it feels like, but until I experience it myself, I will still want to huddle in the corner with my hands over my ears and my eyes shut tight singing Jack Johnson songs over and over again to calm myself down. Who knows…this may happen in the labor and delivery room…

I was going to gloss over this little tidbit of information, but I wanted to at least give the situation the respect it is due. Today marks the one year anniversary of our miscarriage. It’s amazing how things can change in a year. I am forever thankful for going through that, even though at the time it felt like a cruel joke. It made me realize just how much I wanted a little baby and I felt like it was the universe’s way of preparing me for being a parent. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Week 37

Leave a Reply

