Week 36

How Far Along:   36 Weeks!!!

Size of Baby:  “She now weighs almost 6 pounds (like a crenshaw melon) and is more than 18 1/2 inches long.”babycenter.com

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  Holding strong at 35 pounds.  Maybe I’ll keep this up until labor??

Maternity Clothes:  Still in them.  And, to be honest, I cannot wait to wear my old clothes again!  My maternity clothes are starting to get to be a tad too tight, but at this point I am. not. buying. new. clothes.  The little guy will just have to make due!

Gender:  Boy!

Movement:  His movements are bigger and more uncomfortable.  When he moves it’s like an Olympic event and it’s more like localized pressure than anything else.  Also, he has been having more and more bouts of what I can only imagine are hiccups.  I guess I need to stop drinking the booze!  KIDDING!

Food Cravings:  None, really.  In fact, I am starting to lose my appetite at times.  I can’t figure out what I want to eat so I’ll stare at the pantry or fridge for a while and then just either give up and go sit down or grab something that only sounds partially appealing.  Well, let me change my answer…Starbucks Salted Caramel Hot Chocolates are amazing and I want one every day, so I guess that’s a craving.  Though I think I would say the same thing even if I wasn’t pregnant.  Love me some Starbucks, especially when it comes in a festive holiday cup!


(source)

What I Miss:  FEELING NORMAL!  I really just want to be able to get out of bed/off the couch/out of the car without feeling like I’m hauling 8x my body weight with me.  I want to be able to go a full night without getting up to pee (of course this will be replaced by getting up even more often to nurse/change/calm a baby.  Yay.)  I guess I’m just feeling my pregnancy.  Blah.

Sleep:  Most days I really can’t complain about my sleep.  I was so tired when I got home from work last night at 11p that I immediately went to bed (usually I stay up and watch TV or just relax for a bit first) and slept until 7a only waking once to go to the bathroom.  The other night, I had eaten some chocolate before bed and it gave me acid reflux.  I kept waking up in the middle of the night with that warm, vomit-y feeling in my throat.  (Yum…)  I would use the bathroom trying to give the food more room to work it’s way down.  I’d also drink more water, which led me to have to pee more often.  It wasn’t the most productive night’s sleep I’d ever had…  But honestly I really can’t complain about sleep.  I’m just hoping Peanut is a good sleeper when he’s born too!

Symptoms:  As I mentioned above, acid reflux is still around, plus his good friend heartburn.  I always carry a bottle of Tums with me though, so typically they can be combated quite easily.  One symptom that has been around a while but I keep forgetting to mention is something that angers me…sort of.  According to Jeff, for the past several months, I have been…..SNORING!  Ah, geez!  I abhor snoring.  My mom snores.  My dad snores.  My sister snores…sometimes.  I am one of those people who cannot sleep when someone is snoring.  In fact, when my mom and I went to visit my sister a few months ago we shared a bed.  I agreed to this before I remembered she snored.  The entire night I was rolling in bed, pushing her, or telling her she was snoring.  I did not get great sleep that night.  The next day I bought some ear plugs at Walgreens.  My mom and sister gave me a hard time about it, but they worked like a charm!  Hmm…maybe I should give Jeff a pair…  Anyhow, I’m hoping this is due to the baby being high up around my lungs and my nose being slightly clogged at night, which will go away after he’s born.  If not, I may have to buy stock in the Mack’s Earplug company…

Another symptom I am experiencing is Braxton Hicks contractions.  Lovely.  They are only noticeable if I have been a bad girl and haven’t had enough water.  The other day I woke up and felt relatively intense cramps in my lower abdomen.  Like a good little student, I filled a big glass of water and downed it, then laid on the couch for about 1/2 an hour.  They eventually went away so I knew they were BH and not something else.  It got me thinking though…I’m afraid I’m not going to be able to tell when a real contraction is starting and when it’s over.  I know I’m supposed to measure the contractions from the beginning of one to the beginning of another, but what if I don’t realize my contractions are starting until they are halfway through?  That will throw off the timing.  I have pains in my uterus at some point every day.  What if I don’t know what pain is the real pain?  I plan to discuss this with my doctor tomorrow (love Dr. Patel!), who will no doubt ease my fears.  She is good about that.  I’m sure I’ll know the difference, but I am a worrier and will think about this at some point every day until I go into labor just like I think about my water breaking in the middle of the sales floor at work every day…

Best Moment This Week:  Finally finishing a big project at work so I can slow down and get back to normal.  We had inventory at work last Thursday.  The weeks leading up to it had me skimping on my housework and cooking.  Now that inventory is over, I can get my house back in order (90% done with this!), get the baby’s room finalized (75% done), and stock my freezer with lots of yummy foods for after the birth (~50% done here).

My wonderful manager gave me last Friday and Saturday off, so I was able to make a few dishes, clean a few messes, and start getting back to normal.  I washed a bunch of Peanut’s stuff and put several things away in his room.  I was planning on putting the carseat and mat in the car, but I have been having car problems lately.  I’m going to be without my car for at least a week, so I don’t really want to be putting a carseat in a car that won’t be in my possession.  Don’t even get me started on my car debacle…I am beyond frustrated.  Car problems occurring a month before a baby comes is not a fun predicament to be in!

What I Am Looking Forward To:  Being done with pregnancy.  Have I mentioned this already?  OK, OK, if I have to pick something else it’s meeting my little man and spending Christmas with him and Jeff.  We started playing Christmas music at work yesterday and I got to thinking about all the different Christmas movies I watch every year.  For some reason, every time I watch The Polar Express and hear Josh Groban sing, I get weepy.  There is another song the little girl sings called “When Christmas Comes to Town” that talks about spending time with family and how she looks forward to it every year.  Yeah, I lose it then too.  Of course then I turn on Christmas Vacation and laugh my butt off!  I think I especially love that movie because of Aunt Bethany.

“Grace!  The blessing!”

(source)

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  I went to Kohl’s the other day to find a nightgown, robe, and nursing bras for when I’m in the hospital.  First off, can you believe that I don’t own a robe?  I think everyone in America has a robe except me.  And Jeff.

Second, it is so stinkin’ hard to find a nightgown that buttons down the front that does not look like something my grandmother would wear!  Everything I saw at Kohl’s (aside from a plaid sleep shirt that was too small) came in horrible pastel floral print.  I even looked in the maternity section and NOTHING!  I ended up buying the sleep shirt (which I have to return) and a jersey knit robe with a hood (that I will not be returning).  After a few days of searching, I finally found something I hope will work at Walmart.com of all places!  I am currently waiting for it to be shipped.  If it doesn’t work, I have no idea what I’ll do.

Anyhow…that was a long winded way of getting to my point about my fun things I purchased while I was looking for nightgowns.  During my search, I found myself at Target.  I had read online that several people got their nursing bras at Target, so I checked it out.  (PS, they do have a pretty significant nursing bra section if you’re curious.)  While there, I wandered over to the baby section.  I still was looking for something I could bring the little man home from the hospital in.  To be honest, I’m not hugely concerned about this because of a few things:  a. he’ll probably be wrapped in a blanket anyways and b. he’ll probably spit up on whatever outfit I love before we make it off of the maternity ward floor…  Maybe not…

Anyhow, so I found a coming home outfit and I also found these!

How cute are they?  I can’t wait to dress him up in his little Christmas outfits.

I love the little reindeer feets!

I just wish I could find one that said “Best Christmas Present” or something like that.  I haven’t searched the internet yet, but I may be doing that this morning!

So, as you can see, things are progressing quite nicely in my opinion.  Now it’s just a waiting game.  In four days, I will be 37 weeks, which means little Peanut will be considered “full term” according to babycenter.com.  I like the sound of that.  With that being said, even though I complain about being ready to not be pregnant anymore, I would really like to carry him through to 40 weeks.  Know what would be funny?  If he was born on the same day I completed my miscarriage last year…

One last thing.  I want to wish Bonnie a big GOOD LUCK today.  She was induced last night after being overdue 12 days!  Can’t wait to meet Baby J!!!

By the time I got this written, pictures taken, and ready to hit “Publish” Bonnie had had her baby!  Welcome to the world, Baby Justice!  We’ve been waiting a looooong time for you!  Congrats, Bonnie, Josh, and the rest of your family!

8 thoughts on “Week 36

    • Right?!?! So cute! He needs the “my aunt knows Santa” bib (or onesie…can’t remember which it was) now.

      Sent from my iPhone

    • I know! If I had known I would have had a little one this year I would have gotten some last year too! Oh well. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  1. Yay! Almost there! I started snoring when I was pregnant too! Yuck. No one tells you about the yucky pregnancy symptoms. It went away a few weeks after birth though. So thats good. Also, I used the medela sleeping bra (i think $15 at Babies R Us plus you can use 20% off coupon) to wear during labor and it was great during and then afterwards to sleep in. And as for a sleeping outfit. I got a knee length nursing gown and never once wore it. But I did wear a three piece outfit i got from Motherhood. It had baggy pants and a nursing tank that was nice a loose and a hip length robe. It was perfect for in the hospital where I didn’t want to have to wear the pants in bed and then comfy for around the house later.

    • Thanks for all the tips, Abby! I’m excited to get the items I ordered from Walmart.com in to see what I think. I ended up returning some things to Target today that were too small and just not right for what I wanted. I agree with the nursing tank/robe idea. That’s the way I think I’m gonna go. Plus, if I like the walmart.com stuff, it was only $12!

Leave a Reply

