Baby Shower

It’s been over a week since the baby shower (I’ve been a little preoccupied with getting last minute prep done as well as things being a little hectic at work), but I still wanted to share my experience with you guys!

The baby shower was held Saturday, October 29, at our house and was hosted by my mother-in-law and sister-in-law.  They did a really great job planning it and it was a treat to have them plan it!

Teri, my mother-in-law, was in charge of the invitations and decorations.  Together, we chose these invitations from Party City and then ran with that theme throughout the rest of the party.

(source)

She bought plates, napkins, cups, and tablecloths in this same theme, not to mention these balloons!  I loved them!


She is very skilled in finding things on Ebay that coordinate with the theme she is working with, so one of the other decorations we had for the table were these adorable candles!  We didn’t light them…they were too cute!

Finally, in addition to all this, she found the cutest suckers!  They were in jungle animal shapes and were the perfect addition to the decor!

Shannon, my sister-in-law, was in charge of drinks, cupcakes, and games.  She brewed the most delicious apple cider (made with Williams Sonoma mulling spices…YUM!).  What a great idea to keep it in a crock pot so it stays nice and warm!

The cupcakes she ordered were from Yummy Ever After and were absolutely scrumptious!  I had picked out yellow cake with chocolate buttercream frosting and chocolate cake filled with raspberry filling topped with vanilla cream cheese frosting.  They were both outstanding, but I think I preferred the chocolate raspberry ones over the vanilla ones.  The woman who does the cupcakes was able to mimic the shower theme on the cupcakes.  LOVED THEM!

I was in charge of the food and I know what you all are thinking.  Why would I want to make the food for my own shower when I could just sit back and let everyone else do it?  I’ll tell you why.  I love making party food!  It gives me a chance to try out some recipes I have had in my arsenal to make.

In addition to the fruit and veggie trays Teri got from Dorothy Lane, we had Mini Ham, Swiss, and Dijon Mustard Sammies, Sausage Balls (a Christmastime staple of mine), Veggie Pizza, Teriyaki Chicken Skewers,

Balsamic Parmesan and Garlic Asiago cheese spreads from DLM, Sabra Pine Nut hummus, and Spinach Artichoke Wonton cups.

The food got rave reviews (especially the veggie pizza and the wonton cups).  I loved all of it, but that’s not surprising since I chose the menu!

After eating and talking, we decided to play some shower games hosted by Shannon.  The first game we played was Baby Word Scramble.  Basically, you are given a list of words that are all jumbled up.  They all have something to do with babies.  You have a set amount of time to unscramble as many as you can and whomever has the most after the time is up wins a prize!  Very fun!

Look at that concentration!

Even the little bitties wanted to join in!

Somehow these girls tied with the same amount of words and ended up winning the game.  I have no idea how that happened but I suspect teamwork was involved…

After the scramble game came the “Guess How Big Her Belly Is” game.  In this game, you are given a roll of ribbon and visually try to guess how big the preggo lady’s belly is.

Some people used themselves as measurements.

Some people guessed a tad too big (thanks, Chrissy!  😛 ).

But Miss Sydney ended up guessing within an inch of my belly!  She’s the little one in front.  Awesome job, Syd!

Next came Baby Shower Bingo.  This game involved getting a 5×5 grid handed to you and entering various presents in each square.  Then, as the preggo lady opens her gifts, you can mark through the gifts on your board.  The first one to get bingo wins!  My aunt Ellie ended up winning this game, though several people were very close!

My generous friends and family brought a ton of items for me to open!  I felt very blessed!  Here is a sampling of the items the little guy received that day:

After I opened presents, people started trickling out.  I made a grand announcement that everyone had to take their picture with me before they left so I could capture the day in my scrapbook.  Most people took standard pictures with me,

but the class clowns had to ham it up a little bit!

After everyone left, I finally got to sample one of the cupcakes.

So cute!  Almost too cute to eat.  Almost…

The next morning, Jeff and I couldn’t resist putting some items together for our little boy.  It was like Christmas morning!

Afterwards, mom, Jen, Carolyn, and I went to breakfast at First Watch.  When we got home, we all just kind of crashed.  Some of us crashed a little harder than others!

It was a great, fun-filled, but exhausting weekend!  Thanks to everyone who helped out with the shower and thanks to those of you who traveled to be here!  I love all you guys and I can’t wait to introduce you to our little Peanut when he arrives.  🙂

7 thoughts on “Baby Shower

    • I’m sure he’s excited to meet you too! Don’t worry if he just looks at you and cries though…that’s supposed to happen. 😉

  1. Pingback: Favorite Christmas… | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

