Week 34

How Far Along:  34 weeks…I can’t believe how close we’re getting!

Size of Baby:  “Your baby now weighs about 4 3/4 pounds (like your average cantaloupe) and is almost 18 inches long. Her fat layers — which will help regulate her body temperature once she’s born — are filling her out, making her rounder. Her skin is also smoother than ever. Her central nervous system is maturing and her lungs are continuing to mature as well. If you’ve been nervous about preterm labor, you’ll be happy to know that babies born between 34 and 37 weeks who have no other health problems generally do fine. They may need a short stay in the neonatal nursery and may have a few short-term health issues, but in the long run, they usually do as well as full-term babies.” -babycenter.com
*First off…the size of a cantaloupe??  Those things can be big!  Secondly, I am happy to know if Peanut does happen to show up now, there isn’t as much risk to his health as there would have been prior to being 34 weeks.  But, as far as I’m concerned, he can just keep on cooking a little longer!

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  I am still right around 32 pounds!  I haven’t put on much weight since the last OB appointment and that works for me!  My body is probably in catch up mode since I put on a bit more weight than maybe necessary earlier on in the pregnancy.  My appetite really isn’t that much bigger than pre-pregnancy.  The only thing different is that I have to eat something for breakfast or I start feeling ill.  It’s the same thing if I go too long between meals, but skipping out on breakfast effects me the most.  I gotta say I’m pretty pleased with my weight gain!  I think I could have done a lot worse!

Maternity Clothes:  Still trying to be creative.  The shirt I’m wearing today is, again, not a maternity shirt, but this time I think you can tell.  It’s definitely not long enough (you can see the fabric of my jeans panel a little bit) and really the only reason I’m wearing this shirt is because I had to take my mom to the airport before work.  I will be adding another shirt on top before I go to work today.

Gender:  A little boy…at least I hope because there’s a lot of blue sitting in my living room right now!

Movement:  I think his quarters are getting a little cramped in there because he has definitely slowed down a little.  He still moves and he likes to wedge himself right up around my ribcage on the left side at times (especially when I’m driving).  My OB said he would probably flip to my right side soon, but so far he’s staying comfy and cozy on my left.  I can just picture him all snuggled up.  So cute!  (Well, if you think being surrounded by organs cute…)

Food Cravings:  I thought long and hard about this over the last week and realized I crave something that I didn’t really consider before…lemonade!  I’m not sure if I crave this because I’m trying to stay away from extra caffeine and fake sugar (i.e. Coke Zero) while still getting a water-based drink or if it’s a legitimate craving.  All I know is I love going to Chick-fil-a because I love their lemonade!  I like mine a little more watered down though, so I usually drink some and then let it sit for a while to get a little less intense.  Either way, that’s what I’ve been craving for a good while now.  I did get to enjoy a Bloomin’ Onion with my mom last night!  One food craving from last week down!

What I Miss:  Same old, same old.  I miss wearing regular clothes.  I miss drinking a glass of wine.  I miss steaks done medium.  I miss sleeping on my stomach.  I miss not feeling random pains throughout the day.  You know what though?  It’s all worth it.

Sleep:  I cannot complain here at all!  I’m still sleeping pretty well at night (and sometimes during the day).  I have only been using the bathroom once a night and I typically fall right back to sleep when I’m done.  I just really can’t complain.  I’m enjoying it now because who knows what the future will bring!

Symptoms:  My symptoms are much better this week!  I almost don’t want to say that too loudly just in case they hear be and come back!  My itchiness may have been due to dry skin more than pregnancy.  I have been trying to use exfoliators and moisturizing body washes in the shower as well as lotion as often as I think about it.  It seems to have worked!  My stomach is the itchiest part on my body and it only itches a little bit (probably from the skin stretching).  Other than that, I’m good!

Best Moment This Week:  The baby shower!  It was so nice seeing everyone and being able to spend time with all the ladies I love!  Everyone was so generous.  I truly feel blessed.  I’m so thankful to have so many loving people in my life!  I’m sure you guys are as excited to meet Peanut as he is to meet you!

What I Am Looking Forward To:  Getting the room put together.  Now that we have a lot more of the items we need, I can start putting things away and figuring out what exactly we need.  I got some of the items I had been looking for for Peanut’s room yesterday at Ikea and hopefully I’ll be able to finish decorating in the next few weeks and do a nursery walkthrough.

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  Obviously too many to list!  One thing I was amazed by were the three  hand painted canvases from one of my dad’s friends.  She is such a talent and painted three of the animals found on Peanut’s bedding on canvases I can now hang in his room!  How special!

This past week has been great!  Even though I had a lot to do both at work and at home, it ended on a wonderful note!  As I said above, I am so grateful to have such loving, caring people in my life and I’m so glad I got to share this special time with them.  If Peanut feels half as much love in his life as I have felt over the past year, he will be truly blessed.  Love you all!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I must go eat one of these Baby Shower cupcakes from Yummy Ever After.  (Daytonians, these are so good!  Trust me…I know my cake.)

Notice how she put the monkey’s face from the party supplies on the cupcake?  So talented!  And truly delicious.  They really are yummy ever after!

Oh yeah…happy Halloween everyone!  Be safe trick or treating on this glorious fall day!

One thought on “Week 34

Leave a Reply

