Party Food: Spinach Artichoke Wonton Cups

Today was a really fun day.  It was the day of my baby shower!

More on that later.

I was in charge of the food.  I know what you’re thinking…Bethany, it’s your shower!  Why are you making the food?  To be honest, I love cooking for a party!  I love appetizers and trying new things.  What better way to try new things than to host a party with a bunch of guinea pigs at your beck and call?

When I was talking to my friend, Chrissy, she mentioned I should make the Spinach Artichoke dip I had made last year for a game night.  I broke out my favorite appetizer cookbook (thanks, cousin Melissa!) and looked up the recipe.  Well…I thought that’s where I had gotten the recipe.  Instead I found a different recipe that looked even better!  I had to try it.  It was such a big hit I had to share.

BTW, this one’s for you, Sara!

Spinach Artichoke Wonton Cups
(adapted from Favorite Brand Name Appetizers cookbook)

1 package wonton wrappers (found in the organic section of the grocery store)
1 can artichoke hearts, drained and finely chopped
1 package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well drained
2 cups Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
3/4 cup mayonnaise
2-3 cloves garlic, minced

For the shells:
Preheat oven to 325º.  Spray a mini muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray.  Press one wonton shell into each cup.  I found the best way to do this was to lay the shell over the opening, then with my middle and index fingers, I would press down on opposite sides of the cup.  Basically, you want the shell to pucker evenly all the way around the cup.

Some of my shells did not pucker very well and I had to discard them as they wouldn’t hold filling.  Be a little picky when you form the cups.  It will pay off in the long run.  After forming, spray each shell with the cooking spray again (so it browns nicely) and bake until lightly golden.

I ended up cooking mine for about 12 minutes.  Remove shells from pan and let cool.  Repeat with remaining shells.*

For the filling:
Mix the artichoke hearts, spinach, cheese, mayo, and garlic in a medium bowl.  Mix well.  (Yes, I forgot to take a picture of this.  I was kind of busy getting the other foods made at the same time.  Whoops!)

To assemble:
Place the shells back in the mini muffin tins.  I did this so the shells stay standing up.  Fill the shells with about 1/2 tbsp of filling.  I used a mini ice cream scoop to make easy work of this.  The filling doesn’t have to go all the way down into the shell.  Once you start cooking them, they will melt down into the shells.  Bake the cups at 325º for about 7 minutes or until heated through.  Serve immediately.

*This process can be done up to a week in advance.  After the shells are cooled completely, store them in an airtight container until ready to use.

Easy to view recipe available here.

2 thoughts on “Party Food: Spinach Artichoke Wonton Cups

  1. Pingback: Party Foods | One Girl's Taste On Life

  2. Pingback: Baby Shower | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

