Week 32

This post is mega late because I kept forgetting to take pictures!  Nevertheless…here we go!

How Far Along: 32 weeks

Size of Baby: Babycenter says: “By now, your baby weighs 3.75 pounds (pick up a large jicama) and is about 16.7 inches long, taking up a lot of space in your uterus. You’re gaining about a pound a week and roughly half of that goes right to your baby. In fact, she’ll gain a third to half of her birth weight during the next 7 weeks as she fattens up for survival outside the womb. She now has toenails, fingernails, and real hair (or at least respectable peach fuzz). Her skin is becoming soft and smooth as she plumps up in preparation for birth.

Total Weight Gain/Loss: I’ve gained about 30 pounds so far. Honestly I haven’t been paying as close attention to my weight as I did in the beginning of the pregnancy. And I’m OK with that!

Maternity Clothes: What exactly are non-maternity clothes? I don’t really remember… I was organizing the basement last week and I came across all my jeans and pants from before pregnancy. I got very anxious to get back into them and get my old, much smaller body back. In time…

Gender: A healthy, little boy!

Movement: There has been so much movement lately! I love it all. I think one of my favorite things is to see him move from one side of my belly to the other. I have discovered he likes being warm! If my belly is uncovered, he stops moving. When I cover it up, especially with a fleece blanket, he gets excited and starts rolling and tumbling all over! I have started noticing him kneading me more and more. He’ll put pressure on a part of my belly, then release it, then put more pressure on me. I have been comparing this to the feeling I get when Tyler kneads me.


Food Cravings: Nothing really. This changes from week to week. There hasn’t been any one thing that I have said to myself “I must get that now!” lately. Though this kid does like the sugar. Some days that’s all he wants me to eat! I have to tell him no a lot, but sometimes I can’t be strong and I end up caving! 🙂

What I Miss: My prepregnancy figure! I was looking at pictures from a few summers ago and saw how little I actually was. I miss that. I have a feeling I’ll get back to it at some point. Now, however, Peanut wants me to be as big as a house. Ha!

I also miss being able to bend down and get back up without it being a national feat! I have to straighten at my job (you know, make sure the store looks all pretty) and when I have to straighten the bottom shelves or get down on my hands and knees to reach something, I feel like I need a forklift to make my way vertical again!

Sleep: Honestly, all things considered, I’m sleeping great! Some nights (like last night) I am up every 1-2 hours to use the bathroom, other nights I get up once (around 2:30a) to go. It’s so strange how it varies from day to day! I also am still enjoying my pillow! I’m wondering if I’m going to like sleeping without it once I have Peanut. I’m sure my husband won’t miss it taking up our bed…

Symptoms: HEARTBURN! It’s not all the time. In fact, it’s not as much as I’m probably making it out to be, but it’s definitely there. I have found I get it much worse when I’m laying down. Last night a couple times I woke up to the feeling that I was choking a little. Not a pleasant sensation to be awakened by.

My other, very weird, symptom is itchiness!!! At certain points in the day, my legs and arms get very itchy, especially when I’m taking a hot bath. Part of it may be due to dry skin (I’m horrible at moisturizing) but another part of it might be “pruritic urticarial papules and plaques of pregnancy (PUPPP)”. Apparently, it’s common to have itchy skin during pregnancy, especially in the last trimester. I’m going to mention it to my doctor on Wednesday and just double check it’s all normal. I’m sure it is, but still. You can never be too careful, especially now, right?

Best Moment This Week: Getting some things taken care of for the nursery! I had a few extra days off after our vacation to Florida, and I took full advantage of them. I put the sheets on the crib, hung curtains (which I have to exchange because I got the wrong length like a dummy), and put together a little bookshelf complete with canvas storage bins. I have decided our colors are baby blue and bright green apparently. The curtains and a few of the bins are a really pretty green and, as you may remember, the walls are blue.

We still have to hang the shelving in the closet, put the dresser in the room, and hang pictures and decorations on the walls, but I’d say the room is about 50-75% done. I am hoping to have it as complete as I can by the shower so people can see the room for themselves.

What I Am Looking Forward To: My doctor’s appointment on Wednesday. It’s really nothing special I don’t think, but it’s my first two week appointment. I’m officially on biweekly appointments for the next month and then, gasp, weekly appointments! I’m not gonna lie…I’m still really freaked out about giving birth. If I’m being really honest, I’d say I’m really freaking out about being a parent in general, but I’m not focusing on the after part as much right now. I keep having fears about my water breaking while standing in an aisle talking to customers at work. I know people go into labor every day, but I wish I could pinpoint when my labor was going to start. In a perfect world, right?

I did realize that starting in week 36, I would be visiting the doctors weekly and they would be checking me for progress. Hopefully they will be able to give me a little insight into how my body is coming along…and if that’s not the case, I don’t want to know about it, because those thoughts gave me a little comfort which is all I’m looking for right now!!

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made: We got the call last week that the dresser was here! Jeff and his brother went and picked it up yesterday and it is beautiful! All we have to do is move it into place in the nursery. One more thing checked off the list!

I plan to do a full nursery post later in the year once we get it as decorated as possible. I don’t know why, but I’m really not that great at decorating. I’m a perfectionist and if I can’t see the end result clearly, it’s hard for me to see any part of the planning process. I’m getting better and have a much easier time with smaller spaces, but still. Just keep an eye out and I promise I’ll have a walk through posted at some point. Have a great week everybody!

Leave a Reply

