Week 31 (From Florida!)

How Far Along:  31 weeks and counting!

Size of Baby:  “This week, your baby measures over 16 inches long. He weighs about 3.3 pounds (try carrying four navel oranges) and is heading into a growth spurt. He can turn his head from side to side, and his arms, legs, and body are beginning to plump out as needed fat accumulates underneath his skin. He’s probably moving a lot, too, so you may have trouble sleeping because your baby’s kicks and somersaults keep you up. Take comfort: All this moving is a sign that your baby is active and healthy.” -babycenter.com 

Boy this is true!  He moves a lot more now.  Either that or I’m sitting down enough to realize it!  He hasn’t been keeping me up at night yet, but I’m sure he’ll find a way soon!

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  I don’t know an exact number this week but I’m sure I’m up as I’m on vacation in Florida.  I try to make smart choices when I go on vacation, but let’s face it, everyone indulges just a little bit more when they travel.  Or is that just me?  🙂



Maternity Clothes:  This is not going to change any time soon, but I have noticed something.  My shorts I wore this summer are slightly too tight.  Luckily, I should only have to wear them this week since temperatures in Ohio are cooler.  I love my maternity jeans I have, but I need to pick up a few more pair.  I have three pair of jeans, but two of them are low rise and you guys know how I feel about low rise maternity jeans!

Gender:  A little guy!  Since Jeff and I have been on vacation this week, we keep thinking about going on vacation with him.  Jeff and I are both big Disney World fans and cannot wait to share that place with him!  Not looking forward to lugging around all the necessary crap, but what are you gonna do?

We have decided he is gonna be a golfer though…

Movement:  Like babycenter.com was saying, he’s going to be moving a little bit more for a few weeks I think.  Then I’ve heard he’ll get a bit cramped and slow things down.  Of course, I expect to get a head or a foot in the ribcage, but again, what can you do?

Food Cravings:  This week I have had the luxury of having really great melon!  I am indulging in lots of produce (cantaloupe, honeydew, grapes, bananas) these days, trying to enjoy it as much as possible before returning to the cold.  My stepmom is a great cook so I’ve also had lots of yummy dishes I’ve never had before.  Being spoiled isn’t half bad!

What I Miss:  Being able to sleep on my back and turn easily in the middle of the night.  I sometimes feel like I have to sling my belly around when I’m trying to turn!  Other than that, I miss having a glass or two of wine.  My dad and stepmom are big wine drinkers, so I’ve had to watch them indulge this week.  At least I got to sniff the glass a little bit!

Sleep:  Honestly, sleep hasn’t been too bad still!  Even though it’s harder for me to turn over in the middle of the night, I still manage relatively well.  One thing I’ve noticed has increased is my trips to the bathroom!  I counted five trips last night between going to bed and waking in the morning.  Yikes.  It’s not very fun at all!  I have also been having some crazy dreams lately!  But of course they only last until I wake up to the call of nature…

Symptoms:  When we got to Florida, I was nervous about how I would sleep without my maternity pillow.  I was right to worry!  The first night I got about two hours of sleep total, and the sleep I did get was not restful at all.  My back hurt, I couldn’t get comfortable, etc.  I promptly asked my dad to take me to Target to pick a body pillow up.  I found a pillow and a 2-pack of pillowcases for $20 and I think it has been the best $20 I have spent on vacation so far!  I only hope I can figure out how to smuggle the pillow back in my suitcase!

Another symptom I have been noticing is soreness on the lowest part of my belly.  I think either he’s laying on me weird or my pants are too tight.  It doesn’t happen all the time, but when it does, it hurts!  I just try to stretch a little and work it out.  Otherwise there’s not much else I can do.

Best Moment This Week:  Spending so much time with my husband!  We have such opposite schedules we never get to see each other.  He works a traditional 8-5 job and I work retail hours.  I could be home at 5:30, 8, or 11 at night!  Every day is different and we never know if we will get to see each other or not!  This week we have spent pretty much every hour together since Monday night.  It has been fabulous. The belly has gotten lots of kisses this week.  Peanut is happy.  🙂

One other moment that was wonderful was when the little guy said hi to Jeff.  I was sleeping on the couch and Jeff looked over to see my belly moving.  He put his hands on my stomach and felt Peanut twisting and turning like he’s never felt before!  It was so great since Jeff hasn’t really been able to feel the boy move too much.

What I Am Looking Forward To:  Lots of blogger friends have had their babies in the past month or so and it’s made me dream of seeing my baby’s face for the first time.  I wonder how he will look, smell, sound like, act like.  I am excited to see how Jeff interacts with him.  I imagine cuddling him on the couch while watching snow fall outside.  I am just really looking forward to being a mom.

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  Not this week!  Though we did see a few Christmas items we thought were cute when we were shopping the other day.

(That onesie says “What Santa Doesn’t Bring Me Grandma Will”.  So cute!)

I hope everyone is doing well!  We head back to Ohio on Monday, but until then we are going to continue to relax and enjoy our time together.  Talk to you all soon!

3 thoughts on “Week 31 (From Florida!)

Leave a Reply

